HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   apache user (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3942)

rbartz 27th April 2006 06:12

apache user
 
I hope I am not asking something already covered, but I couldn't find much about this.

Fedorea core 3, apache 2.0.53

httpd runs under user apache group apache

When I use PHP programs to create directories or files they are owned by apache.apache. Later I can't write to those directories.

An exapmle, I create a directory in an images file, it is owned by apache.apache. When I try to write a file to that directory with the same program, it won't go until I chown that directory to the web owner.web group.

suExec is off, my webs are created in /home/www

What do I need to do to change this behavior so that the PHP programs create directories and files owned by the web user.web group?

Thanks

Richard

till 27th April 2006 09:49

Please have a look here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2831

rbartz 27th April 2006 10:22

Thank you Till.

It looks like suExec is my solution as all the scripts we would want to run are uploaded with FTP and owned by each site user and group.

Will it work simply by turning it "on" with the checkbox in ispConfig? I read somwehere that the webs would have to be in /var/www for suExec to work, but we already have live sites in /home/www. If so, can this be worked around by recompiling suExec to use /home/www instead of /var/www? What should be the USERDIR suffix, if any?

Would this affect later ispConfig updates or apg-get updates?

Thanks again!

# /usr/sbin/suexec -V
-D AP_DOC_ROOT="/var/www"
-D AP_GID_MIN=100
-D AP_HTTPD_USER="apache"
-D AP_LOG_EXEC="/var/log/httpd/suexec.log"
-D AP_SAFE_PATH="/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin"
-D AP_UID_MIN=500
-D AP_USERDIR_SUFFIX="public_html"

falko 27th April 2006 12:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbartz
I read somwehere that the webs would have to be in /var/www for suExec to work, but we already have live sites in /home/www. If so, can this be worked around by recompiling suExec to use /home/www instead of /var/www?

Yes, you must recompile suExec.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbartz
Would this affect later ispConfig updates or apg-get updates?

It does not affect ISPConfig updates, but might cause problems if suExec is to be updated...

rbartz 27th April 2006 12:59

Thank you Falko and Till, you guys are great!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.