HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Access via external IP works but website name doesn't (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39175)

soch 14th September 2009 06:43

Access via external IP works but website name doesn't
 
When I give the external IP of my router http://w.x.y.z it takes me to my website.

But when I enter http://www.domain1.com (domain1 is an example), I get address not found error. http://domain1.com doesn't work either.

1. I have my domain registered via GoDaddy.com. I have changed the nameservers to point to the external IP address of my router. Note: both ns1 & ns2 point to the same external IP of my router w.x.y.z.

2. I have forwarded all the requests on port 80 to my ubuntu server internal IP address in the router firewall settings.

3. I have created several records in ISPconfig3 as follows:

Record type Name Data Priority
================================================== =======
A domain1.com internal IP of the ubuntu server 0
A www internal IP of the ubuntu server 0
MX domain1.com mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com ns2.domain1.com 0

4. The DNS zone has following settings:
Server: server1.domain1.com
Client: empty
Zone (SOA): domain1.com. (dot in the end)
NS: ns1.domain1.com. (dot in the end)
email: mail.domain1.com. (dot in the end)



5. I don't have static IP from fios service. But the external IP (w.x.y.z) hardly changes.


Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

till 14th September 2009 13:13

You have to use the external IP address in DNS records and not the internal IP address and there must be a dt at the end of the A record for domain1.com so that it reads "domain1.com."

soch 14th September 2009 19:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 204291)
You have to use the external IP address in DNS records and not the internal IP address and there must be a dt at the end of the A record for domain1.com so that it reads "domain1.com."

Made those changes:
Record type Name Data Priority
================================================== =======
A domain1.com. External IP of router 0
A www. External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0


All above records have dot in the end for host.

Still same problem.

Note: I am able to see the web page properly when using the IP address but not using the website page. Does it mean there is some problem with name translation?

soch 14th September 2009 23:59

intodns.com info, errors:
 
Parent Domain NS records Nameserver records returned by the parent servers are:

ns1.domain1.com. ['w.x.y.z'] [TTL=172800]
ns2.domain1.com. ['w.x.y.z'] [TTL=172800]

a.gtld-servers.net was kind enough to give us that information.

NS NS records from your nameservers NS records got from your nameservers listed at the parent NS are:
Oups! I could not get any nameservers from your nameservers (the ones listed at the parent server). Please verify that they are not lame nameservers and are configured properly.

----------->>>>>>>>> WHY?

Mismatched NS records WARNING: One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records.
DNS servers responded ERROR: One or more of your nameservers did not respond:
The ones that did not responded are:
w.x.y.z

Multiple Nameservers ERROR: Looks like you have less than 2 nameservers. According to RFC2182 section 5 you must have at least 3 nameservers, and no more than 7. Having 2 nameservers is also ok by me. ---> DO I NEED TO HAVE 2 DIFFERENT IPs FOR NS1 & NS2????

Missing nameservers reported by your nameservers You should already know that your NS records at your nameservers are missing, so here it is again:

ns1.domain1.com.
ns2.domain1.com.



SOA SOA record No valid SOA record came back!

MX MX Records Oh well, I did not detect any MX records so you probably don't have any and if you know you should have then they may be missing at your nameservers!

WWW WWW A Record ERROR: I could not get any A records for www.domain1.com!

(I only do a cache request, if you recently added a WWW A record, it might not show up here.)

giftsnake 15th September 2009 11:40

  • No Dots at the in A records for hostnames (e.g. www)
  • I think you need 2 Nameservers with different IPs

your zonefile should look like this:

Code:

A domain1.com. External IP of router 0 (dot at the end)
A www External IP of router 0 (NO dot at the end)
A mail External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0


soch 15th September 2009 23:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by giftsnake (Post 204402)
  • No Dots at the in A records for hostnames (e.g. www)
  • I think you need 2 Nameservers with different IPs

your zonefile should look like this:

Code:

A domain1.com. External IP of router 0 (dot at the end)
A www External IP of router 0 (NO dot at the end)
A mail External IP of router 0
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com 10
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com 0
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com 0



The zone records look like above. Infact, I deleted the old DNS zone entry and created a new one using the DNS Wizard.

I don't have 2 external IPs for nameserves.

giftsnake 16th September 2009 00:54

lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:

A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com


btw: a dot at the end of the entry means, that the domainname is NOT added there. No dot at the end means, that domain.com is added.
example:
A www. 12.34.56.78 is for a DOMAIN called www (which is not allowed)
A www 12.34.56.78 is for www.domain.com, according to SOA

maybe you can ignore that with the 2 different ips for nameserver, just give it a try!

soch 16th September 2009 01:49

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by giftsnake (Post 204516)
lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:

A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com


btw: a dot at the end of the entry means, that the domainname is NOT added there. No dot at the end means, that domain.com is added.
example:
A www. 12.34.56.78 is for a DOMAIN called www (which is not allowed)
A www 12.34.56.78 is for www.domain.com, according to SOA

maybe you can ignore that with the 2 different ips for nameserver, just give it a try!



Thanks for the help.

I added 2 more A records for ns1 & ns2. Added the dots where needed. I still have the same problem: "One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records."

Here's what the entries look like:

soch 16th September 2009 12:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by giftsnake (Post 204516)
lets say, your external ip is 12.34.56.78

what you need is EXACTLY this (not as your above: look for the dots at the end of the entrys!!!)
Code:

A domain1.com. 12.34.56.78
A www 12.34.56.78
A mail 12.34.56.78
A ns1 12.34.56.78
A ns2 12.34.56.78
MX domain1.com. mail.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns1.domain1.com
NS domain1.com. ns2.domain1.com


Tried as above (added 2 A records for ns1 & ns2) & put dots at the end of hostnames as above, but I am getting the same problem. IntoDNS.com still says that nameservers are not responding.

till 16th September 2009 12:20

Run this command directly on the server and post the output:

dig @localhost domain1.com


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.