HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Wordpress, permissions, mod-php, suphp (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38725)

voidzero 1st September 2009 23:05

Wordpress, permissions, mod-php, suphp
 
Hello,

On one of my sites I'm running Wordpress. It is also configured with an FTP user.
Wordpress has the ability to update files from its admin panel. But here's the problem: suPHP is much slower than Mod_PHP. Mod_PHP is much faster, but it runs everything as user www-data! So when using mod-php I have to chmod the dir to www-data:www-data and everything runs fast BUT I can't update the software and I can't login with FTP, but with Suphp the site is so slow that it actually locks down....

Guys, I need your advice on this! What should I do?

Thanks!
Mark

till 3rd September 2009 10:49

Use php-fcgi + suexec.

voidzero 3rd September 2009 13:01

Well that's still using php-cgi and it's still too slow!

But I have solved it in a different way: by using ACL.
The webroots of these sites are set to user:group www-data:www-data with an ACL entry u:web29:rwX,g:client5:rX and it includes a default.

What I did was, I created a script to do all of this for me hourly through a cronjob. Here it is, I hope it will benefit others with the same problem:

Code:

#!/bin/bash
# Fix permissions for webroots that are using mod-php and wordpress.

chown -R www-data:www-data /var/www/site.org/web
setfacl -bR /var/www/site.org/web
setfacl -Rm u:web29:rwX,g:client5:rX,d:u:web29:rwX,d:g:client5:rX /var/www/site.org/web

# Repeat this for all the sites that need it. Crontab it for your own convenience.
# New files will automagically inherit these permissions.


till 3rd September 2009 13:05

Quote:

Well that's still using php-cgi and it's still too slow!
No, it is not using php as cgi if you selected fcgi. How do you know that its using php-cgi, as phpinfo is always showing identical results for cgi and fcgi. if you want to test it, you will have to check it with ps aux. fcgi is as fast as mod_php, you can test it with apache bench. Also be aware that you have to wait a minute until you test again.

So the solution is still to use php-fcgi, you hack is not nescessary and its highly recommended to not use it!

To further speed up php scripts, intall eaccelerator or xcache.

voidzero 5th September 2009 14:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 203099)
No, it is not using php as cgi if you selected fcgi. How do you know that its using php-cgi, as phpinfo is always showing identical results for cgi and fcgi. if you want to test it, you will have to check it with ps aux. fcgi is as fast as mod_php, you can test it with apache bench. Also be aware that you have to wait a minute until you test again.

Just to be sure.. we are talking about Fast-CGI here?

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 203099)
So the solution is still to use php-fcgi, you hack is not nescessary and its highly recommended to not use it!

To further speed up php scripts, intall eaccelerator or xcache.

I will try that out. I was using memcache/memcached, which one would you recommend out of the two you mentioned? Thanks for the help - to me this part of ispconfig is still a bit new.

Reginald 6th September 2009 10:13

Try to install apache2-mpm-itk +mod_php and configure the creation of new sites.
see http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25918 for more details

voidzero 6th September 2009 19:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 203099)
No, it is not using php as cgi if you selected fcgi. How do you know that its using php-cgi, as phpinfo is always showing identical results for cgi and fcgi.

From top:
14023 web28 20 0 123m 53m 26m S 6.7 2.6 0:03.26 /usr/bin/php-cgi

This is what I meant with 'still using cgi' - I selected FastCGI so that's why I wanted to make sure that we are talking about the same thing.. are we?

till 7th September 2009 08:56

Quote:

Just to be sure.. we are talking about Fast-CGI here?
Yes.

Quote:

From top:
14023 web28 20 0 123m 53m 26m S 6.7 2.6 0:03.26 /usr/bin/php-cgi

This is what I meant with 'still using cgi' - I selected FastCGI so that's why I wanted to make sure that we are talking about the same thing.. are we?
Thats the binary which is used by fastcgi and cgi, ss the above line does NOT maen that it is running as cgi!

Ify ou want to know if it is running as cgi or fastcgi, just look in the vhost configuration file.

Quote:

I will try that out. I was using memcache/memcached, which one would you recommend out of the two you mentioned? Thanks for the help - to me this part of ispconfig is still a bit new.
memcache is someting different, it is a fast object cache and does not speed up the processing of php code.

voidzero 14th September 2009 16:33

Thanks Till, I have updated it to FastCGI and it does indeed work just as fine. One question remaining though: when I use mod-php and xcache, I can see that php is using xcache from the xcache admin page. However when I use FastCGI I see no web page in xcache's database. Could you help me with this so that xcache does use FastCGI-websites?

voidzero 14th September 2009 16:51

My problem is known on this page, too:
http://forum.lighttpd.net/topic/16734
Might there be some solution at hand for ispconfig?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.