HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   PTR Records in ISPConfig 3 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38284)

guimnk 17th August 2009 21:17

PTR Records in ISPConfig 3
 
Hi all..

I've authority over of my ip block (example: 192.168.1.0/28)

I'm trying to create my own PTR records in ISPConfig.

This is a example of PTR Zone using bind9:

Code:

zone "1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
        type master;
        file "/etc/bind/db.192";
};

Code:

$TTL    604800
@      IN      SOA    test.domain.com. root.test.domain.com. (
                    2009040101        ; Serial
                          3600        ; Refresh
                          86400        ; Retry
                        2419200        ; Expire
                        604800 )      ; Negative Cache TTL
; NS
@        IN      NS      ns1.domain.com.
@        IN      NS      ns2.domain.com.

; domain.com
10        IN      PTR    test.domain.com.

And it is a Zone of domain.com:

Code:

$TTL    604800
@      IN      SOA    test.domain.com. root.test.domain.com. (
                    2009040101        ; Serial
                          3600        ; Refresh
                          86400        ; Retry
                        2419200        ; Expire
                        604800 )      ; Negative Cache TTL
; NS
@        IN      NS      ns1.domain.com.
@        IN      NS      ns2.domain.com.

; domain.com
ns1                IN        A        192.168.1.1
ns1                IN        A        192.168.1.2

test          IN    A        192.168.1.10

So, the IP test.domain.com is 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.10 resolve test.domain.com

In ISPConfig I'm trying to create a new zone with name 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa. and next, will create a NS record and PTR record. Example:

Code:

Zone: 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
Nameserver Hostname: ns1.domain.com.

Zone: 1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
Nameserver Hostname: ns2.domain.com.

Name: 1
Canonical Name: ns1.domain.com.

Name: 2
Canonical Name: ns2.domain.com.

Name: 10
Canonical Name: test.domain.com.

And in zone of "domain.com" is:

Code:


Hostname: ns1.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.1

Hostname: ns2.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.2

Hostname: test.domain.com.
IP-Address: 192.168.1.10

I'm trying to view the result but not works.. Please, how can I do to fix it?

till 18th August 2009 11:46

You missed to add the dot at the end of ns1.domain.com, ns2.domain.com
and test.domain.com. It must be:

ns1.domain.com.
ns2.domain.com.
test.domain.com.

guimnk 18th August 2009 14:21

till,

It's added.. And when I try to resolve my IP, I get

Code:

Host 1.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa. not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

guimnk 18th August 2009 15:02

This is the configuration screen

http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/8941/dns1.png

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/5108/dns2.png

bluejay3 20th August 2009 05:16

Another zone may be required
 
I believe you need another reverse DNS zone for the whole subnet, 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
In this zone, add NS records:
NS 1-30 ns1.yourserver.com.
NS 1-30 ns2.yourserver.com.
and a CNAM for each record you have control over, pointing to your 1-30.1.168.192 zone:
CNAME 1 1.1-30 (no trailingperiods, the full zone name is appended)
CNAME 2 2.1-30
....
CNAME 30 30.1-30

Therefore, given a lookup for 192.168.1.5, it will look for 5.1.168.192... which returns 5.1-30 (no period, so really equal to 5.1-30.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa) which will then look in your 1-30.1.168.192... zone and find the PTR record for 5.

Note the 1-30 zone prefix is arbitrary and can be anything really, but it helps with identication.

guimnk 20th August 2009 21:26

CNAME Record??

I create a new zone with name: 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa.

And I create a records:

NS 1-30 ns1.domain.com.
NS 1-30 ns2.domain.com.
CNAME 1 1-30

But it not works..

bluejay3 21st August 2009 00:45

The CNAME records should be like:
type: CNAME
name: 1
data: 1.1-30
.....
type: CNAME
name: 29
data: 29.1-30


Here is a full briefing I have for users of ISPConfig:
1. Create a new zone for the block of IPs and assign the new zone to the client
Example: Customer has 192.168.10.8/29, create zone 8-29.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa
(Note: the "8-29" zone prefix is arbitrary but helps us with identification of subnet)
2. Move the records (Example: hosts 8 through 15) manually or via database to new zone
3. In old zone (10.168.192.in-addr.arpa), add NS records for the new zone prefix
Example: NS 8-29 dns1.example.com.
NS 8-29 dns2.example.com.
4. In old zone, add CNAME records for each host in customer's range pointing to the new zone
in the form of CNAME [host] [host].[new zone prefix]
Example: CNAME 9 9.8-29
CNAME 10 10.8-29
5. Refresh the zones.
Now a PTR lookup will for 192.168.10.11 will query 11.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa and get a CNAME
of 11.8-29.10.168.192.in-addr.arpa which will return the proper value for host 11 in the newly
created zone.

(Note: This procedure can be applied to a single record and non-continous ranges)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.