HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Install Centos ISPconfig (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37252)

alex288288 7th July 2009 09:41

Install Centos ISPconfig
 
hey everyone, im going crazy i cant install this script, everytime i goto install it i get this error:

code:
[root@host21 ~]# wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/ispc...-2.2.32.tar.gz
--02:37:51-- http://sourceforge.net/projects/ispc...-2.2.32.tar.gz
Resolving sourceforge.net... failed: Name or service not known.

does ANYONE know the reason and how do i fix this??

using Centos 5.3

Regards
Alex
________
buy vaporizer

edge 7th July 2009 10:39

Can you ping any other domain from that system?
If not your network setup is incorrect

alex288288 7th July 2009 11:03

apparently i cant ping anything either, is there a way to fix this?
the server still works and connects http. and ssh

this is what i did

[root@host21 ~]# ping google.com
ping: unknown host google.com
________
Honda Cr125M
________
Weed

edge 7th July 2009 11:38

It looks like your nameserver (DNS) is not set.
You will need to add a working nameserver in /etc/resolv.conf

Try using the one from your provider.

resolv.conf should look something like this
Quote:

nameserver xx.xx.xx.xx
xx.xx.xx.xx should be an IP from a working nameserver

When all is done ok, you should be able to ping, and update

alex288288 7th July 2009 11:45

ive done this,

when i goto my conf file i get this info

----
nameserver 208.XX.233.53
search 127.0.0.1 208.XX.233.53 localdomain
----

should i change the second line also?
________
Daihatsu Hijet Specifications
________
MAZDA C PLATFORM

Mark_NL 7th July 2009 12:33

you're nameserver is probably down or not responding to queries .. anyway, change it to another ip (or add one).

you could add some free ns servers

the "search.." line is optional

alex288288 7th July 2009 13:21

hi, mark,

i have changed my NS back to my IP and it is still not working, i have also enabled Bind Dns Server in hyperVM as it was disabled

i also noticed when i login to SSH it used to show my IP address..now it shows my old domain name

root@host21 ~]# wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/i...ar.gz?download

it USED to show


root@208.XX.233.53 ~]# wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/i...ar.gz?download

ive also uninstalled Webmin as it WAS installed and i was able to wget ..

Mark_NL 7th July 2009 13:54

root@208.XX.233.53 .... and .. nameserver 208.XX.233.53

so you got yourself as dns server? What are the forwarding nameservers?
If your server can't find an ip, it'll use the forwarders, if none specified, no ip will be found ..

just set resolv.conf like this:
nameserver YOUR_ISP_NAMESERVER

that's it, not your own ip, just the isp's ..

alex288288 7th July 2009 14:01

hey mark,

i dont have any DHCP installed.. at least i dont think so,

this may sound dumb, but how do i go about finding my ISP IP address?
________
Ford futura history
________
Og Kush

Mark_NL 7th July 2009 16:11

hehe, i've never said DHCP :)

Anyway, the problem that exists now is that your server can't resolv a hostname (f.e. google.com) to an IP address .. that's when DNS servers come in.

can you output the content of:
- /etc/resolv.conf
- /etc/hosts
- ifconfig

and paste them in your reply.

Also: What ISP is your server connected to? Or is your server located in a datacenter? if so, what's the name of the datacenter?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.