HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Programming/Scripts (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   How to run shell_exex command at web site using php code. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37177)

AnilKumar 3rd July 2009 07:46

How to run shell_exex command at web site using php code.
 
Hello,

Can anyone suggest how to overcome from this one.

Shell_exec is perfectly run in the localhost,
when i want to run that command at the web server, that is not executed.

chmod 7777 -R \public\test\sleepingbaby.jpg

presently that file has 0644 permission.

i want to change that file permission to full access that is 7777.

$cmd = "chmod 7777 -R \public\test\sleepingbaby.jpg";
$res=shell_exec ($cmd);
when i echo $res; then that not return any values.


Please give any solution for it.

Anil Kumar.
http://www.anil2u.info

id10t 3rd July 2009 14:41

Is that file owned by the user the webserver is running as? Also, you don't needt omake jpgs executable - 644 is proper permissions...

Leszek 3rd July 2009 23:00

Also check if shell_exec isn't blocked in php.ini.

ffs123 4th November 2011 11:31

shell_exec cannot run under website apache user
 
I have same problem

I install imagemagic at server.
and I can run

convert test.pdf[0] test.jpg and runs fine. and get screen shot of the first pdf file.

login as: root
root@x.xx.xx.xxx's password:
Last login: Wed Nov 2 15:55:35 2011 from 184.18.153.10
[root@server11 ~]# convert -density 300 -quality 100 /var/www/clients/client1/web1/a.pdf[0] /var/www/clients/client1/web1/test1.jpg

Or
convert -density 300 -quality 100 /var/www/clients/client1/web1/a.pdf[0] /var/www/clients/client1/web1/test1.jpg



I cannot run under website with php
I tested in my other cpanel server and works fine. But not ISPCONFIG.
shell_exec function is enabled in php.ini

e.g sample php command

if($file_type == "pdf")
{
shell_exec("convert -density 300 -quality 100 /var/www/clients/client1/web1/web/files/test.pdf[0]
"/var/www/clients/client1/web1/web/thumbs/test.jpg 2>&1");

falko 5th November 2011 12:24

Are open_basedir restrictions active? If so, you should add the directory where convert is located to the open_basedir directories (on the Options tab of the website in ISPConfig).

nbhadauria 7th November 2011 09:59

Check that apache user can execute command chmod.

Also check apache logs for errors..

You might need to give sudo permission to apache for command chmod.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.