HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   a way to replicate ispconfig3 mydns databases (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37069)

lano 28th June 2009 01:01

a way to replicate ispconfig3 mydns databases
 
On my new box I installed Ispconfig3, and on the other machine Mydns.
Is there a way to replicate databases, so that I would have identical records? I would like to have automated creation master/slave DNS servers.
I looked tutorial here, however, in my case databases are different.
Should I install ispconfig3 on the second box?

falko 28th June 2009 14:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by lano (Post 196701)
I looked tutorial here, however, in my case databases are different.

What exactly is different?

lano 28th June 2009 15:02

Mydns database is "dbmydnsconfig", ISPC3 database is "dbispconfig".
I guess, that there should be the same database name for sync data.

Is there any other option to to sync DNS records between ISPC3 and Mydns?

And another offtopic question:
In ISPconfig3 dns templates; is it possible to predefine values of "Allow zone transfers to
these IPs (comma separated list)"?

till 28th June 2009 15:07

I seems that you mix up here something. mydnsconfig is the same then the dns module which is integrated into ispconfig, so it does not make any sense to use mydnsconfig and ispconfig on a server as mydnsconfig is a subset of ispconfig.

lano 28th June 2009 15:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 196758)
I seems that you mix up here something. mydnsconfig is the same then the dns module which is integrated into ispconfig, so it does not make any sense to use mydnsconfig and ispconfig on a server as mydnsconfig is a subset of ispconfig.

maybe I was unclear, since english isn't my native language.
What I would like to achieve is the way to create DNS records on two servers automaticly. Main server with ispconfig3 would be primary NS, and Mydns on the second server would be slave NS.
Is there any other way to do that?

torusturtle 29th September 2009 17:03

when you install MyDNSConfig 3.0.1 you'll be asked if you want to install in standard or expert mode. Choose the expert mode.

It will then ask you if you want to join an existing MyDNSConfig multiserver setup.

Because the tables are the same in ISPConfig3 this should work.

lano 29th September 2009 18:10

Thanks.
I allready solved issue and described it in this post.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.