HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Hotfix PHP segfaults ISPConfig 2.2.x (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3695)

till 13th April 2006 18:43

Hotfix PHP segfaults ISPConfig 2.2.x
 
Since we updated PHP to version 5.1.2 in ISPConfig 2.2.0, I have seen a number of problems related to segmentation faults here in the forum. These segfaults have never been there with PHP 5.0.x versions.

After searching the PHP bugtracker, I found several bugs in PHP 5.1.2 that result in a segfault. It seems that PHP 5.1.2 is not as stable as the older versions and some of you got these stability issues.

Even if i can not reproduce the segfaults on my servers, I decided to make a hotfix that downgrades PHP 5.1.2 to PHP 5.0.4 in ISPConfig 2.2.0 and 2.2.1 installations. This hotfix must only be installed if you encounter one of the following problems:

1) Changes in the ISPConfig interface where not written to system config files.

2) Running the command:

/root/ispconfig/php/php -q /root/ispconfig/scripts/writeconf.php

as root user results in a segfault.

Installation instructions:
------------------------------------------------------------

Login on the shell as root user and execute these commands:

Code:

wget http://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/compile_php_5_0_4.tar.gz
tar xvfz compile_php_5_0_4.tar.gz
cd compile_php_5_0_4
./compile

The compile script stops ISPConfig, compiles php 5.0.4 as replacement for PHP 5.1.2 and starts ISPConfig again.

comedit 5th May 2006 17:37

Can this still be persistent in 2.2.2 ?
 
I have installed 2.,2.2 and encounter now that :

although I have eliminated a domain in the interface, It won't let me remake the site, because the localhost.domain.com does allready exist !

Should i also downgrade ?.

till 5th May 2006 18:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by comedit
I have installed 2.,2.2 and encounter now that :

although I have eliminated a domain in the interface, It won't let me remake the site, because the localhost.domain.com does allready exist !

Is the domain still in the recycle bin?

Quote:

Should i also downgrade ?.
Please apply the above hotfix. It works for ISPConfig 2.2.2 too.

comedit 5th May 2006 23:07

No I thought this might be a reason so I have emptied it

comedit 5th May 2006 23:08

i will do the downgrade

comedit 5th May 2006 23:18

wrong just logged in and still in recycle bin
 
A new login an a check shows mew these sites are still in the recycle bin.

What to do ?

first downgrade and then empty the bin or something else ?

Herbert 6th May 2006 13:16

i had the same problem,
i'am follow the instructions and everything works now..

falko 6th May 2006 13:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by comedit
A new login an a check shows mew these sites are still in the recycle bin.

Did you do some manual changes to the ISPConfig database?

comedit 6th May 2006 14:14

I might have done a database update (i am running in "discover how it all works mode", but nothing manual in the database itself

So you advice firstdowgrade PHP and then empty the bin ?

falko 6th May 2006 19:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by comedit
So you advice firstdowgrade PHP and then empty the bin ?

Yes, you can try that.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.