HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Feature Requests (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Site Skeletons (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3693)

rbartz 13th April 2006 15:50

Site Skeletons
 
How about programming in the site creation script that would look for a directory in /root that could contain a "user-defined" site skeleton, and copy them onto each new site. A "site skeleton" would be defined as an optional set of files created by the host admin according to his idea of the standard site that wouldn't be overwritten by an ispConfig update.

When a site was setup, the script would look for the site skeleton directory, say /root/skeleton/ and if there were any directories or files there, it would copy them all into the new site with the same permissions and then chown them appropriately. If no directory existed, the script would just go on.

As little as a custom index.html page could be done, or cgi scripts, php info scripts, host policy and use pages, images.... as much or as little as the host admin wanted could be added on setup.

Richard

falko 13th April 2006 23:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbartz
As little as a custom index.html page could be done

You can create custom standard indexpages using the ISPConfig web interface.

You can put standard CGI scripts into /root/ispconfig/standard_cgis, and when you enable "Standard CGIs" for a web site, these CGI scripts will be copied to the cgi-bin folder of the new web site.

rbartz 14th April 2006 04:00

Thanks for that information Falko. :) That does take care of the usual standard index page and the cgi scripts.

We install some other things on our "other server" like links to realaudio folders and phpmyadmin and httpd logs, a PHP info page, the always missing favicon.ico, images, a standard robots.txt page and so on. I guess I was thinking in terms of these kind of things.

Another way to do that might be a choice in the site setups to install custom content by running a user-defined script that could be configured in server settings. That would make it optional and entirely up to the server admin what, where, and if his content was added to a site... and give him total control over and responsibility for how it installed. And it could allow him to use the site setup vars such as user name, root directory and so on.

What do you think?

Richard

falko 14th April 2006 14:35

Sounds interesting. We can put it on our To-Do list, but don't expect it to come soon - we're always short of time... :rolleyes:

danf.1979 15th June 2006 13:17

Quote:

Another way to do that might be a choice in the site setups to install custom content by running a user-defined script
Thumbs up! Yeap, been able to use a custom script for setting up a new website would be really awsome... :)

TobiasTM 17th July 2006 21:04

This would be a very nice option. ;)

BčrKessels 29th November 2006 13:32

I need symlinks instead of dirs
 
Because I run my sites off a single codebase, I don't want to create the ./web dirs for certain users/a certin hosting plan.

Now, I run a commandline script that moves the dir away, and places a symlink instead. But it sounds a proper skeleton will solve my case too.

SamTzu 9th May 2007 10:10

Web Skeletons
 
I like the idea of having different skeleton directories for different CMS.
I would name them like this...

./web/guppy
./web/joomla
./web/drupal

etc.

This would really speed things up.
Of cource most CMS would still need a way to clone the database somehow.

I'd also like a way to copy the hostingplans & invoices from client to client.
That is making too much manual work. Is there a way to manually copy them in the OS level? I tried to locate those files but failed.

Sam

till 9th May 2007 10:22

Quote:

I tried to locate those files but failed.
Hosting plans and invoices are not files, they are records in the database. If you want to copy them, you will have to copy the corresponding permission records in isp_nodes too and you might have to adjust some values.

SamTzu 9th May 2007 13:50

Copy stuff
 
Ok, makes sense.
Thats why there is no such feature :)

Sam


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:25.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.