HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Help for a totally noob on ISPconfig (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36759)

dodimar 19th June 2009 06:46

Help for a totally noob on ISPconfig
 
Hi, sorry if this post is inappropriate.

I was trying to read the documentation but I am boggled.

I was able to setup ISPconfig 2 on a server with a single IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx on domain.co.cc (I used co.cc domain)

now, the big question I have is, what will be my next step. The guide on howtoforge's "ISPConfig 2.x - First Steps (Creating Web Sites, Email Addresses, Etc.)" is a bit unclear for me.

I was able to set up a client but when I logged in as a client, there were no options to add a website...

Also, if may domain is domain.co.cc, can I just set ns1.domain.co.cc, etc.. for name server?

thanks very much..

Just want to emphasize that this is my first attempt on having full control of a VPS.. i've been a webclient before but only as a customer (CPanel). Please help..

Edit:

By the way, this is on a production server, not on a local network.

till 19th June 2009 08:04

Quote:

I was able to set up a client but when I logged in as a client, there were no options to add a website...
Client logins are for managing existing websites. To create a website you use the admin or a reseller login.

Quote:

Also, if may domain is domain.co.cc, can I just set ns1.domain.co.cc, etc.. for name server?
Yes and no. You can use ns1.domain.co.cc as hostaname of the dns server of the domain domain.co.cc but you will have to make sure that ns1.domain.co.cc exists as a dns A-Record pointing to the IP of the server and you will have to ask your provider to create a glue record for it as ns1.domain.co.cc is a subdomain of domain.co.cc

dodimar 19th June 2009 08:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 195271)
Client logins are for managing existing websites. To create a website you use the admin or a reseller login.



Yes and no. You can use ns1.domain.co.cc as hostaname of the dns server of the domain domain.co.cc but you will have to make sure that ns1.domain.co.cc exists as a dns A-Record pointing to the IP of the server and you will have to ask your provider to create a glue record for it as ns1.domain.co.cc is a subdomain of domain.co.cc

Ah, so website will be created under reseller then... thanks for that..

Now as for the name server part.. how do I do that..

I have domain.co.cc, it is pointing to the IP of my server.... could I use this method: point domain.co.cc to afraid.org's name servers; then under afraid.org, point domain.co.cc to my server IP and create subdomains (ns1, ns2, etc) pointing to my server IP?

Thanks..

till 19th June 2009 08:14

Here is a tutorial if you really want to run your own dns servers:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

I d not recomend to run your own dns if you have no deeper knowledge about dns. BBetter you leave it as it is and use the dns of your provider as you are doing it already.

dodimar 19th June 2009 08:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 195281)
Here is a tutorial if you really want to run your own dns servers:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

I d not recomend to run your own dns if you have no deeper knowledge about dns. BBetter you leave it as it is and use the dns of your provider as you are doing it already.

will read that.. but might take your suggestion not to run my own dns..

but need more info on that..

when you refer to "provider", is it the domain provider..?

my VPS provider didn't gave me any name servers...

name servers had been a big question mark to me since I went to web publishing...

Thanks for your patience...

dodimar 19th June 2009 10:21

I am still at lost at this.

Sorry if I sound impatient.

What name server should I use for the domains that will be hosted on my server.

Also, I will be providing only the webhosting (since this is free), I won't have control of them. So I need to provide them a name server to point their domains.

Thanks..

falko 20th June 2009 12:21

This should give you the idea how you can create glue records: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund

dodimar 20th June 2009 13:19

Thanks, i'll look into those...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.