HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Quota doesn't work (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3610)

tom 10th April 2006 16:41

Quota doesn't work
 
Quota was installed according to:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
after a rebot I did the following tasks:

Quote:

sarge03:~# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hda3 [/] done
quotacheck: Checked 2934 directories and 36983 files
quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile //quota.user.new to name //quota.user: Die Operation ist nicht erlaubt
quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile //quota.group.new to name //quota.group: Die Operation ist nicht erlaubt
sarge03:~# quotaon -avug
quotaon: using //quota.group on /dev/hda3 [/]: Das Gerät oder die Ressource ist belegt
quotaon: using //quota.user on /dev/hda3 [/]: Das Gerät oder die Ressource ist belegt
I don't no what's wrong.

tom

falko 10th April 2006 17:23

What's in /etc/fstab?
What's the output of
Code:

df -h
?
What's the output of
Code:

ls -la /
?

tom 10th April 2006 17:41

/etc/fstab
Quote:

/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 0 0
df -h
Quote:

/dev/hda3 2,5G 791M 1,6G 34% /
tmpfs 76M 4,0K 76M 1% /dev/shm
Quote:

ls -la
This question seem not complete. ls from where, which directory?

By the way, what does the 0 0 beside defaults,usrquota,grpquota mean?

tom

falko 10th April 2006 18:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by tom
This question seem not complete. ls from where, which directory?

I didn't ask for the output of
Code:

ls -la
, but
Code:

ls -la /

tom 10th April 2006 19:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
I didn't ask for the output of
Code:

ls -la
, but
Code:

ls -la /

sorry that's my fault.

there is the output:

Quote:

sarge03:/etc/exim4# ls -la /
insgesamt 236
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root 4096 2006-04-10 16:36 .
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root 4096 2006-04-10 16:36 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2006-04-09 19:53 bin
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 2006-04-09 19:51 boot
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 24576 2006-04-10 16:30 dev
drwxr-xr-x 59 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:32 etc
drwxrwsr-x 7 root staff 4096 2006-04-10 01:25 home
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 initrd
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 2006-04-09 19:51 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-3-686
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 4096 2006-04-09 22:57 lib
drwx------ 2 root root 16384 2005-09-27 16:56 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 media
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2004-12-15 23:55 mnt
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 95 root root 0 2006-04-10 16:30 proc
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 18:28 quota.group
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:36 quota.group.new
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:42 quota.user
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:36 quota.user.new
drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:27 root
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2006-04-10 00:09 sbin
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 srv
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 0 2006-04-10 16:30 sys
drwxrwxrwt 4 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:28 tmp
drwxr-xr-x 12 root root 4096 2006-04-09 20:04 usr
drwxr-xr-x 14 root root 4096 2006-04-09 21:06 var
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 2006-04-09 19:51 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-3-686
tom

tom 11th April 2006 12:46

How do I get the quota working?

tom

falko 11th April 2006 13:57

Run
Code:

rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug


tom 11th April 2006 19:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Run
Code:

rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug


In
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
you explain to do touch /home/aquota.group to put the aquota.group file in home.
Do I need them both, /home/aquota.group and /quota.group?

Where is the right place to create? I think it's / isn't it?
I thought aquota and quote are ony different versions.

PS:
By the way, there are two mistakes in your example code:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
1. It should be touch /home/aquota.user and not touch home/aquota.user
2. It should be chmod 600 /home/aquota.* and not chmod 600/home/aquota.*.
_______________________________________missing blank space ^

tom

falko 12th April 2006 11:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by tom
In
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
you explain to do touch /home/aquota.group to put the aquota.group file in home.
Do I need them both, /home/aquota.group and /quota.group?

You want to install quota on /, not /home, so
Code:

rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug

is correct.


Quote:

Originally Posted by tom
PS:
By the way, there are two mistakes in your example code:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
1. It should be touch /home/aquota.user and not touch home/aquota.user
2. It should be chmod 600 /home/aquota.* and not chmod 600/home/aquota.*.
_______________________________________missing blank space ^

tom

Thanks for the hint, I've fixed the errors. :)

tom 12th April 2006 23:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
You want to install quota on /, not /home, so
Code:

rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug

is correct.



Thanks for the hint, I've fixed the errors. :)

It's my turn to say many, many thanks to you for your great work and help for all humans:-)

There are still questions.... about the quota. I've created a new thread.

tom


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.