HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   ISPConfig - admin control panel (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35925)

robertlouwen 4th June 2009 00:33

ISPConfig - admin control panel
 
Gentlemen,

When logged in as admin on the tab "SITES" you will see "Redirect" and "Options"

At the moment I don't use this because I din't know how and I don't want to mess-up my server

But I want to learn so what can
  • Redirect do for me ? and what about the flags ?
  • how to use the field "Directives" in the Options tab ?

till 4th June 2009 08:13

Redirect: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/mod_rewrite.html
Directives: You can put any apache directive there that is allowed within a vhost: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/

Croydon 4th June 2009 09:26

This is explained quite quickly:


There are two redirection possibilities.
  1. redirect to an other domain
    Just set the type to "no flag" and the path to "http://www.myotherdomain.com".
  2. redirect to a subfolder
    Let's say you have www.example.com as a domain and you do not want to use the /web/ folder but the /web/exfolder/ for your data.
    1. visible redirect
      Choose R or R,L as type and enter /exfolder/ into the path field. Anyone calling www.example.com will be redirected to www.example.com/exfolder/ and this will be visible in the browser's address bar
    2. hidden redirect
      Choose no flag or L as type and enter /exfolder/ into the path field. It works the same as above with the difference that the user will still see www.example.com in the address bar.



oups till, you were faster

robertlouwen 4th June 2009 10:09

@ Croydon,

Thank you for your explanation and if I understand you I don't need to redirect.
I have two domains and they will have different content.

Maybe in future if I install "Joomla" in a folder named "joomla" and I want my visitors to visit something.org instead of someting.org/joomla

PS maybe you can explain "quite quickly" what to do with the field "Directives" in the Options tab ?
I liked your explanation in dummy language for redirect

Croydon 4th June 2009 10:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by robertlouwen (Post 192059)
PS maybe you can explain "quite quickly" what to do with the field "Directives" in the Options tab ?
I liked your explanation in dummy language for redirect

Well, I don't think this is as easy as explaining redirect ;)

In short: you can put everything there that is allowed in a virtual host section inside the apache config.

Examples for directives (taken from the apache config generated by ispconfig):

Code:

ErrorLog /var/log/ispconfig/httpd/test.de/error.log

    ErrorDocument 400 /error/400.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/401.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/403.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/404.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/405.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/500.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/503.html

Code:

<Directory /var/www/clients/client0/web1/web>
        Options FollowSymLinks
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        <Files ~ '.php[s3-6]{0,1}$'>
            Order allow,deny
            Deny from all
            Allow from none
        </Files>
    </Directory>

Code:

    # suexec enabled
    SuexecUserGroup web8 client1
    # php as fast-cgi enabled
    <Directory /var/www/xxxxxxxxxx/web>
        AddHandler fcgid-script .php .php3 .php4 .php5
        FCGIWrapper /var/www/php-fcgi-scripts/web8/.php-fcgi-starter .php
        Options +ExecCGI
        AllowOverride all
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
    </Directory>

You see it's really not easy to explain everything possible there ;)

robertlouwen 4th June 2009 10:26

@ Croydon,

I think I better leave this one alone !

I have a other question.

When finished installing my server ( at this moment there are no clients or websites ) I made a phpinfo.php file and it showed a lot and also information about Apache.
Now I have 2 clients ( me and my son ) with 3 websites and I copy the phpinfo.php file to the websites and now no Apache information ?

falko 5th June 2009 13:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by robertlouwen (Post 192069)
Now I have 2 clients ( me and my son ) with 3 websites and I copy the phpinfo.php file to the websites and now no Apache information ?

Does it show anything at all, or do you maybe see the PHP source code of the file in your browser?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.