HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Import (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35687)

madmac007 29th May 2009 22:25

Import
 
Is it possible to do an Import from Bind9 to Mydns3?
or does it need to be imported the long manual way.


Thanks

falko 30th May 2009 12:35

I think you'd have to do it manually...

madmac007 1st June 2009 19:02

Bummer
 
Thanks for the reply Falko.

I better get typing.

:)

madmac007 1st June 2009 19:21

Bind master
 
On this note ,
Can we not just tell the BIND Master to replicate to this new MYDNS server?

I`m already thinking NOT as the data is stored differently, .

Just Looking for a reason not to do a whole bunch of typing.

Cheers.

falko 2nd June 2009 19:20

You can make a BIND server a slave of a MyDNS server, but I don't think the other way round is possible...

Darla Chantelle 9th August 2009 00:47

You will not be able to act as dns server for them without getting approval from the ARPA. Also, if you do wish to do this you will need at least 2 servers for redundancy, preferably located at different geographic locations. You can host websites, but to do this you will need a fixed IP address from your ISP. This will cost extra, and some providers will not do this. You may also need to change to a business account. The bind name server will be usefull for setting up an internal dns, that way you can test internally to www.your.friends.domain pointing to your internal private address, and see what is seen from outside via your public address.

Mark_NL 27th November 2009 13:10

Code:

mydnsimport -axfr=bindserver.domain.tld importdomain.tld
Just be sure you enabled AXFR on the bind server.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:17.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.