HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Bug in ISPConfig controlpanel? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34879)

buzzy 12th May 2009 11:24

Bug in ISPConfig controlpanel?
 
I have some trouble with the dns-editor in ISPConfig.

When I try to add a MX-record (or CNAME-record) that points to another domain, it becomes wrong.

Lets say I have a mail-server at mail.mainserver.com

Then for my site-domain I want to setup a MX-record that points to that domain, like this:

mydomain.com MX mail.mainserver.com

I click on the add MX-button, then fill in:

Hostname: [I leave this blank]
Mailserver hostname: mail.mainserver.com

But this creates something like this:

mydomain.com MX mail.mainserver.com.mydomain.com

I even tried using mail.mydomain.com and creating a CNAME, but this creates the same result:

mail.mydomain.com CNAME mail.mainserver.com.mydomain.com

Seems like it automaticly ALWAYS adds the ".mydomain.com" to the end?

Am I doing something wrong or is this a bug?

I use version 3.0.1.1

rdv25772 12th May 2009 11:54

Just a dot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by buzzy (Post 187923)
I click on the add MX-button, then fill in:

Hostname: [I leave this blank]
Mailserver hostname: mail.mainserver.com

I think you need to add a dot behind the hostname of the mailserver. I have experience the same problem.

You should fill in the next:
Hostname: [I leave this blank]
Mailserver hostname: mail.mainserver.com.

Don't ask me why. I only noticed it when I added a MX record to my own site and when I could not send an email to that domain.

buzzy 12th May 2009 14:23

I actually tried that as well, but I will try it once again just to be sure.
I will post again with the results.

buzzy 12th May 2009 14:30

Strange, but it worked now. :)

Adding a dot is common, and I am 100% sure that I tried it.

I guess I did not wait the minute it takes for ISPConfig to run the updates.

Thank you anyways for pointing it out.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.