HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   The Perfect Setup: SuSE 9.3 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3389)

ct2193 28th March 2006 18:07

The Perfect Setup: SuSE 9.3
 
I'm attempting to build a SuSE 9.3 system via the "Perfect Setup" document and I've come into a problem configuring Quotas.

I'm at the part:

-=-=-=-
touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
-=-=-=-

The first time I ran this, quotacheck -avugm returned the message "quotafile was probably truncated".

And the line quotaon -avug returned "quota format not supported in kernel".

I attempted to repeat the entire quota section and the line quotacheck -avugm said nothing more about truncated files. So I assume this part is
ok.

The line quotaon -avug still returns the message about "quota format not supported in kernel". I'm not really sure as to why. I have not loaded anything custom, as everything has been installed per the "Perfect Setup" documentation.

Any suggestions?

-=-

I'm also interested in a "Perfect Setup" specifically for RedHat 9 and/or RedHat Enterprise Linux 4 (RHEL4). Any information on these versions?

falko 28th March 2006 19:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by ct2193
And the line quotaon -avug returned "quota format not supported in kernel".

Have a look at this thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3083

ct2193 29th March 2006 17:34

Still having quota problems
 
I looket at http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3083 and still have problems.

-=-
touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avug

then i get the message "quotacheck: Cannot remount filesystem mounted on / read-only so counted values might not be right. Please stop all programs writing to filesystem or use -m flag to force checking.

(didn't get this message before)

then I ran

quotaon -avug

and got the message

quotaon: using //aquota.group on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.
quotaon: using //aquota.user on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.

-=-
here's my fstab

/dev/hda2 / reiserfs acl,user_xattr,usrquota,grpquota 1 1
/dev/hda1 swap swap pri=42 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom subfs noauto,fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocha rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy subfs noauto,fs=floppyfss,procuid,nodev,nosuid,sync 0 0


Not sure what the problem is.

I've redone the entire "Perfect Setup" and the "how-to" dies here again.

ct2193 29th March 2006 17:38

also...
 
also tried

modprobe quota_v1

FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.11.4-20a-default/modules.dep: No such file or directory

modprobe quota_v2

FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.11.4-20a-default/modules.dep: No such file or directory

quotaon -avug

quotaon: using //aquota.group on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.
quotaon: using //aquota.user on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.

falko 29th March 2006 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by ct2193
here's my fstab

/dev/hda2 / reiserfs acl,user_xattr,usrquota,grpquota 1 1
/dev/hda1 swap swap pri=42 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom subfs noauto,fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocha rset=utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy subfs noauto,fs=floppyfss,procuid,nodev,nosuid,sync 0 0

You're using reiserfs. Quota doesn't work on reiserfs - you should have used ext3 instead.

ct2193 4th April 2006 18:57

Quotas... again!
 
OK. I reinstalled SuSE 9.3, being sure to use EXT3 (instead of ReiserFS)

This time, running:

touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avug

Seemingly worked fine. Then I ran:

quotaon -avug

and got the message

quotaon: using //aquota.group on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.
quotaon: using //aquota.user on /dev/hda2 [/]: No such process
quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel.

Don't know what the problem is. I tried "modprobe quota_v1" and v2. Both say "could not load /lib/modules/2.6.11.4-20a-default/modules.dep No such file or folder"

I rechecked all the previous steps from the how-to document. Everything appears to have been completed as well as properly spelled.

Any more ideas?

falko 6th April 2006 00:15

Please run
Code:

echo quota_v1 >> /etc/modules
echo quota_v2 >> /etc/modules

and reboot the system. Does it work then?

ct2193 7th April 2006 18:30

Postfix postconf
 
OK. I'm now to the postconf part of Postfix. Thus far (with much thanks) I've gotten here with no further problems. I would like clairification as to which parts are your "put your data here" and which parts are system phrases / config strings. The section I am in question of is below.

-=-

postconf -e 'mydomain = example.com'
postconf -e 'myhostname = server1.$mydomain'
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_local_domain ='
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_security_options = noanonymous'
postconf -e 'broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,check_ relay_domains'
postconf -e 'inet_interfaces = all'
postconf -e 'alias_maps = hash:/etc/aliases'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_auth_only = no'
postconf -e 'smtp_use_tls = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_use_tls = yes'
postconf -e 'smtp_tls_note_starttls_offer = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_key_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.key'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_cert_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.crt'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_CAfile = /etc/postfix/ssl/cacert.pem'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_loglevel = 1'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_received_header = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_session_cache_timeout = 3600s'
postconf -e 'tls_random_source = dev:/dev/urandom'

-=-

falko 7th April 2006 18:56

Code:

postconf -e 'mydomain = example.com'
postconf -e 'myhostname = server1.$mydomain'

You must replace this with your own data.


Code:

postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_local_domain ='
 postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_security_options = noanonymous'
 postconf -e 'broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,check_relay_domains'
 postconf -e 'inet_interfaces = all'
 postconf -e 'alias_maps = hash:/etc/aliases'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_auth_only = no'
 postconf -e 'smtp_use_tls = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_use_tls = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtp_tls_note_starttls_offer = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_key_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.key'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_cert_file = /etc/postfix/ssl/smtpd.crt'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_CAfile = /etc/postfix/ssl/cacert.pem'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_loglevel = 1'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_received_header = yes'
 postconf -e 'smtpd_tls_session_cache_timeout = 3600s'
 postconf -e 'tls_random_source = dev:/dev/urandom'

You can copy and paste this part. :)

ct2193 17th April 2006 19:04

index.pl
 
OK. Finally back to working on install.

I got through most of the Apache/PHP5 section and just before the Proftpd section, I'm doing the commands:

SuSEconfig
/etc/init.d/apache2 start

Restarting apache yields an error saying index.pl is either misspelled or refers to a module not installed.

Do I need to remove index.pl from the httpd.conf file, or am I missing a step?

The documentation said to comment out the line application/x-perl pl pm from the mime.types file.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.