HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   access client site without using domain? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33725)

dc41 15th April 2009 19:30

access client site without using domain?
 
I'm having trouble accessing client sites using the host webserver address plus the username, and I believe it is caused by some error I made when setting up ISPConfig 3.0.1.1.

What is the correct address to access a client's website using the server's address... not the client's domain name?

For example, if the server is dev.myfakedomain.com and the client's web username is bobshop, do I access the site with:
"http://dev.myfakedomain.com/users/bobshop", or
"http://dev.myfakedomain.com/bobshop.com/web/", or
"http://dev.myfakedomain.com/~bobshop?"

I can't seem to find a combination that works. Is there a server setting that enables/disables this feature?

Thanks!

till 15th April 2009 20:53

You mix up ispconfig 2 and 3, ispconfig 3 does not have any user sites.

dc41 15th April 2009 21:00

So with v3 there is no way to access the client site using the server address in place of the FQDN of the client's website? Or should it work with http://dev.myfakedomain.com/~bobshop and I just don't have it set up correctly?

till 15th April 2009 21:19

There is no client site.

dc41 15th April 2009 21:38

Es tut mir leid, aber ich verstehe das nicht.

Perhaps I'm using the wrong terms. I log into ISPConfig as admin, click on the sites tab, and create a website. The new site uses the default template, username bobshop, and the domain bobshop.com.

Does version 3 allow the user to view his site using http://dev.myfakedomain.com/~bobshop or any variation like that? Is the only way to access the root directory for www.bobshop.com is to use "http://www.bobshop.com"?

falko 16th April 2009 18:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by dc41 (Post 182127)
Is the only way to access the root directory for www.bobshop.com is to use "http://www.bobshop.com"?

Yes, that's right. But you can modify the hosts file of your client computer if it helps: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows

dc41 20th April 2009 18:40

I guess what I'm looking for is a solution to the following situation.

A client already has a live website at www.myclient.com. We are developing a new site for him, and he wants to check on progress of the developing site. In cPanel all he would have to do is type in www.myserver.com/~myclient and he could see the site in development.

Does ISPConfig 3 offer a similar function? ... a way to access the development site when the FQDN is pointing to the live site... not the development site?

till 20th April 2009 19:02

A client in ispconfiog may have hundreds of sites, so accessing them by client name does not makes much sense. If you develop a website you normally use a subdoamin for it like dev.clientdomain.com and when the site shall go live you just change the domain name of the site from devdomain.com to www.domain.com.

discoverlinux 29th May 2009 23:20

access site without domain
 
Following on from this, while you are waiting for your domain to be created/updated, it would be useful to access the site just by IP and root path. Ensim pro can do this. Has anyone updated the apache conf to have both virtual and IP based sites?

till 31st May 2009 10:16

ISPConfig can do this too. Just assign a IP to the site and you can access it by IP. But most poeple dont have enough IP's, so they use namebased vhosts.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.