HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Messy DNS issue (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33405)

ggohdin 8th April 2009 05:51

Messy DNS issue
 
Hi, thanks to all who helped me previously, now im getting close, but this has got me really confused.

My server is called "server1.agama.net"
My domain is "agama.co.nz"
my NS1 is "ns1.ggohdin.net"

This is the output of "dig @localhost agama.co.nz"

Code:

; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P1 <<>> @localhost agama.co.nz
; (2 servers found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 47409
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;agama.co.nz.                  IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
agama.co.nz.            86400  IN      A      123.123.123.123

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
agama.co.nz.            86400  IN      NS      ns1.ggohdin.net.
agama.co.nz.            86400  IN      NS      ns2.ggohdin.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.ggohdin.net.        86400  IN      A      123.123.123.123
ns1.ggohdin.net.        86400  IN      A      123.123.123.123

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Apr  8 15:49:10 2009
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 124

which to me looks correct.

But when I look at my dns setup using this website http://www.intodns.com/agama.co.nz it shows all the errors of my DNS setup.

Please if someone could help.

falko 9th April 2009 13:49

Did you create A records for ns1.ggohdin.net and ns2.ggohdin.net?

ggohdin 9th April 2009 23:56

Hi, in ISPconfig3 I have my SOA for agama.co.nz then I have my A and NS records for my nameserver in that SOA. Is that correct?

Only other thing I can think of is it might be my registerar.

Thank you for getting back to me.

ggohdin 10th April 2009 00:18

HI, sorry but did you mean A record for my NS with my registerar? because for some reasion when I enter in my NS (ns1.agama.net.) and i enter in my ip address for that NS it wont save on their database, I have emailed them about it, do you think thats the problem?

cheers

falko 10th April 2009 13:30

You need A records for ns1.ggohdin.net and ns2.ggohdin.net, not for ns1.agama.net. These A records must exist in the ggohdin.net zone.

ggohdin 10th April 2009 23:03

Thanks, I have added a zone called ggohdin.net. and I have added the A records with ns1.ggohdin.net. pointing to my external IP. so I just have to wait for propagation time?

cheers

falko 11th April 2009 20:24

There are no authoritative nameservers define for ggohdin.net:

Code:

mh1:~# dig ns ggohdin.net

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> ns ggohdin.net
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 57904
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ggohdin.net.                  IN      NS

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
net.                    900    IN      SOA    a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1239474197 1800 900 604800 900

;; Query time: 149 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Sat Apr 11 20:32:59 2009
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 102

mh1:~#

You must define the nameservers in your registrar's web interface.

ggohdin 15th April 2009 02:51

Hey, thanks for all the help, but I might just give up. I donno why but my server downloaded 25GB in 7 days, and since their is no such thing as UNLIMITED download here, it probabaly isnt a good idea.

cheers

till 15th April 2009 11:31

Downloaded what from where?

ggohdin 15th April 2009 12:17

I donno, I it hasn't saved anything to the hdd as far as I can tell from the raid status.

It seems it was either uploading and downloading about 4 - 8 gb a day of requests it seems. Which is not good considering over here I get charged $2 per gig for anything over 25gb.

I did get the website to work in the end, it seems that the control panel for the domain registrar had some issues with their data base and not holding my IP in their A record.

cheers.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.