HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   www.mydomain.tld goes to it works! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33299)

Etienne 5th April 2009 13:28

www.mydomain.tld goes to it works!
 
Hi,

I've been trying to figure this out already for some time by myself but I cant really figure it out, I know it must be something simple but...

I have a "Perfect Server setup Debian Lenny" wit ISPconfig 3 on it, I cant seem to get the sites right, I have two sites, 1 web-worlds.com and the second dolls-world.com, when in my browser I try to open "www.web-worlds.com" I get the It Works page, but when I type "web-worlds.com" I get the default ISPConfig web site, so kinda the other way arround cuz I want both to point to the default, anybody that can help me figure out how to do this, I am missing something but cant seem te figure out what.

Anyway thanks in advance,
Etienne

till 6th April 2009 09:30

You have to select www as auto subdomain in the website settings.

Etienne 7th April 2009 15:24

Till,

Okay that did the job allright for the "www.web-worlds.com" domain, only my second domain "www.dolls-world.com" still keeps opening in it works, what is the trick there ??

Thanks,
Etienne

Etienne 8th April 2009 10:40

You gotta be kidding me... is there nobody else besides Falko and Till that knows how to setup a second domain ???? very sad :(

till 8th April 2009 10:43

The second domain is setup exactly the same then the first and third domain.

Etienne 8th April 2009 13:46

Okay, as far as i know all the information is the same for both domains, i will illustrate here what is the problem, together with screen shots.

http://www.web-worlds.com - OK
http://web-worlds.com - OK
http://www.web-worlds.com/webmail - gives 404
http://web-worlds.com/webmail - gives 404
http://www.web-worlds.com/phpmyadmin - OK
http://web-worlds.com/phpmyadmin - OK
http://www.web-worlds.com:8080 - OK
http://web-worlds.com:8080 - OK

http://www.dolls-world.com - gives It Works
http://dolls-world.com - gives It Works
http://www.dolls-world.com/webmail - OK
http://dolls-world.com/webmail - OK
http://www.dolls-world.com/phpmyadmin - OK
http://dolls-world.com/phpmyadmin - OK
http://www.dolls-world.com:8080 - OK
http://dolls-world.com:8080 - OK

192.168.123.200 - gives It Works
192.168.123.200/webmail - OK
192.168.123.200/phpmyadmin - OK
192.168.123.200:8080 -OK

My Registrar setup:

http://www.web-worlds.com/GODADDY.jpg

My Dynamic DNS host:

http://www.web-worlds.com/DNS.jpg

My ISPConfig Webdomain setup:

http://www.web-worlds.com/1st.jpg

My ISPConfig DNS zone setup:

http://www.web-worlds.com/3rd.jpg

continues in next post.

Etienne 8th April 2009 13:47

continued:

My ISPConfig DNS Records setup:

http://www.web-worlds.com/4rd.jpg

This kinda sums it up, if you need anything else I will be happy to provide, cuz i really want this to work.

Thanks in advance
Etienne

ggohdin 8th April 2009 22:57

Hi, you need fullstops at the end of your domain names in your dns zone records. e.g "web-world.com." How ever your zone record for dolls-world.com. is correct, just see where the full stops are in that zone and do the same with the other zones.

Etienne 8th April 2009 23:38

Hi ggohdin,

Could you be a little more specific, I dont understand what you mean with full stops??

Thanks,
Etienne

ggohdin 8th April 2009 23:51

ok so this is an example of how records should look in you zone (soa).

web-worlds.com. A 123.123.123.123 0
mail A 123.123.123.123 0
ns1 A 123.123.123.123 0
ns2 A 123.123.123.123 0
www A 123.123.123.123 0
web-worlds.com. MX mail.web-worlds.com. 10
web-worlds.com. NS ns1.web-worlds.com. 0
web-worlds.com. NS ns2.web-worlds.com. 0

Ok. so here we have the fullstops at the end of your domain and your name server, just copy that in you Zone records in ispconfig3.

Remember that it can take up to 3 days for things to work properly, and also because your domain name is the same as your Name server (ns1.web-worlds.com etc) you might have to create a Glue record with your registrar.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.