HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   GeoIP not working? Possible bad database? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32493)

lordshadow 16th March 2009 12:24

GeoIP not working? Possible bad database?
 
Hi, I setup GeoIP according to the howto given here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/mod-geoip-apache2-debian-etch

I have 2 issues which I'm assuming are connected;

1. After creating the php file and restarting Apache2 I went to the test page with my cell phone only for the country to not come up?

I get
Code:

Country: N/A
.

2. When trying to use it with the Horde webmail system, if I try to open a mail I get lots of php errors on the top of the page, which probably explains also why nothing is displayed on the weather plugin on the portal page either.

I have tried downloading the latest database and replacing the old one with it only for still the same thing to happen.

I am very puzzled by this and don't know if anyone's got any ideas on how to get it working properly??

Many thanks

[edit]
It seems that I can't read the file as the text doesn't seem to be ASCII? Not sure if this is because it's a database file or something else but should this be the reason?

falko 17th March 2009 13:59

Are there any errors in Apache's error log?

lordshadow 17th March 2009 14:25

Thanks for the reply Falko.

No there are no errors in the Apache error log to do at least with GeoIP.

I had memory insufficient error which is sorted and a few other proxy errors, but that's only because I'm behind a reverse proxy with Squid.

In the instance that it might be the account that I hadn't got as GeoIP.conf file needs a licence key and user ID, I opened a demo account at:

https://www.maxmind.com/app/license_key_login

and now have at least a temporary ID and licence.

If I now run
Code:

geoipupdate
I get this error:

Code:

# geoipupdate
MD5 Digest of installed database is 757ef6d020a81dae0db2926c48f4a931
Invalid product ID or subscription expired

Could it be my product ID is wrong?

It's currently set to 106!

falko 18th March 2009 18:53

I can't say anything about the license and the key, but your reverse proxy setup might cause problems. Read up about the X-Forwarded-For and REMOTE_ADDRESS headers (e.g. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X-Forwarded-For ).

mod_geoip might simply see the wrong IP.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.