HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   MyDNS ? Why ? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31381)

bl4ckb1rd 16th February 2009 05:05

MyDNS ? Why ?
 
One question only... why was mydns imported into ISPconfig 3, instead of bind like old versions ?

For example... this crapy program is taking way too much cpu usage by doing absolutely nothing. I didn't even put server online and it's already consuming 9% of CPU usage... Here is just an example:

Quote:

top - 05:56:34 up 2 days, 8:38, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.06, 0.07
Tasks: 95 total, 2 running, 93 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 3.0%us, 6.9%sy, 0.0%ni, 90.1%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 1035288k total, 951480k used, 83808k free, 148416k buffers
Swap: 6136312k total, 160k used, 6136152k free, 482920k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
24024 nobody 15 0 5700 980 540 S 8.8 0.1 0:09.12 mydns
I wonder how this thing will perform when i put like 100+ pages on it... it'll go nuts probably. I dont think changing defacto best dns service as bind is good idea, but ok please tell your opinion please.

zcworld 16th February 2009 06:42

not sure why
but here is what i think
due to the MyDNS use an SQL backend to handle the DNS recoards
and you can add / change them on the fly without needing to restart the DNS server

but its odd that mydns is runing at an high level on your system there
i use it for my DNS server on my network for privte DNS and access to outside my LAN DNS lookups
without a problem / any CPU being used


maybe restart the system

or do an install in VM and see how its goes
see if it is using less CPU

till 16th February 2009 11:50

Seems to be a problem with your server only. We are using mydns on several heavy used dns servers and the load is very low.

falko 16th February 2009 18:19

You can configure caching in the MyDNS configuration. That might decrease your load. Also, you can optimize MySQL (e.g. enable the query cache).

bl4ckb1rd 17th February 2009 18:34

Well as i dont have any zone in mydns yet, nor i have port open for dns, this means the daemon is idling in background doing nothing. That's the thing. So enabling cache or mysql cache wouldn't really help out at all i think. But ok i'll wait till repositories of centos 5.2 bring new mydns port and i'll update it and see if that fixes the issue. Else it's just very unoptimized dns daemon i guess...

bl4ckb1rd 17th February 2009 20:52

Oh yes and here is munin graph of cpu usage... before you can see there was all the time cpu usage by "system"... and after i turned off "mydns" (i'll probably use bind for now), you can see how much system usage dropped out. Almost to zero...

http://www.shrani.si/?3N/6H/PPPsIVa/...st-cpu-day.png

Best regards.

Thanks for the replies though.

till 18th February 2009 09:42

From a freshly installed ispconfig 3 server without load on the dns server:

Code:

ps aux | grep mydns
USER      PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ  RSS TTY      STAT START  TIME COMMAND
nobody  11622  0.0  0.0  4792  1328 ?        Ss  Feb15  0:00 /usr/local/sbin/mydns -b
nobody  11623  0.0  0.0  4956  1468 ?        S    Feb15  0:00 /usr/local/sbin/mydns -b
root    26214  0.0  0.0  1720  504 pts/0    R+  08:41  0:00 grep mydn


bl4ckb1rd 18th February 2009 15:01

what distro is this ?

till 18th February 2009 18:47

Debian Lenny, latest released mydns-ng version.

sefs 23rd March 2009 08:58

Same problem here ... MyDns is stuck at 94% CPU usage. What could this be.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.