HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Really Basic Question !!! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3051)

brainz 11th March 2006 18:10

Really Basic Question !!!
 
Hi Guys.

Im trying to set the whole thing up again....

and i had a basic question really basic almost stupid question...

at the end of the installation it asks

Quote:

Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: (e.g. 192.168.0.1):
is this the internal network server ip address ie 192.168.0.100 or is this the network gateway address ie 192.168.0.1 ???



regards
brainz

brainz 11th March 2006 18:21

Sorted !!!
 
Hi Guys,

i found this thread

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1274&highlight=address+ISPConfig

it told me what i needed to know...

Thankyou

regards
brainz

brainz 11th March 2006 19:31

Still a little bit confused !!!!!
 
Hello all

During install this question here...

Quote:

Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: (e.g. 192.168.0.1):
Does this have to be the default gateway address eg. 192.168.0.1

or the server intenral ip address eg. 192.168.0.100

or does this have to be the server external or domain ip address eg. 81.169.182.36 <--- www.howtoforge.com ????

and if it is the last one how do i change it because for this question in the installation i went with the server internal ip address eg. 192.168.0.100

help please !!!

regards
brainz

falko 11th March 2006 21:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by brainz
Does this have to be the default gateway address eg. 192.168.0.1

or the server intenral ip address eg. 192.168.0.100

or does this have to be the server external or domain ip address eg. 81.169.182.36 <--- www.howtoforge.com ????

and if it is the last one how do i change it because for this question in the installation i went with the server internal ip address eg. 192.168.0.100

The server's IP address (192.168.0.100) is correct! :) Always use the IP address you see when you run
Code:

ifconfig
on the shell.

brainz 12th March 2006 10:39

falko once again Thankyou very much....

You must must a very patient person and get pleasure out fo helping people... :D

I know the questions come thick and fast but i have a domain and a account for that account that allows me to enter...

Quote:

A RR
CNAME RR
MX RR
A6 RR
at the moment i got

Quote:

A RR www.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
@.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns1.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns2.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
MX RR @.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
im very unsure firstly how to create a mx record for email ???

also if i have www.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx as a A record and i have created...

ns1.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns2.doman.com xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Do i need the www.domain.com as a A RR record... As far asi understand i do need it if i am hosting website for www.domain.com...

But with ns1 ans ns2 will or does ispconfig take up these two at the default nameservers ???

Or maybe i have to tell ispconfig the ns1 and ns2 nameserver address ??

Another thing is im not entirley clear on how to setup a MX RR record it asks me for....

Quote:

MX ??? .domain.com
MX param - Value ??? - ?????
Also i wanted to ask withing ispconfig do i have to specify the dns nameservers of the dns provided or do i put in the ns1 and ns2 that i created in the dns providers account.

Once again thankyou for your help....

regards
brainz

falko 12th March 2006 14:36

I just happened to write this DNS guide together with Tom Adelstein: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
If you read through it, many of your questions should be answered. :)

brainz 13th March 2006 21:18

1 Attachment(s)
Hi falko,

I read through the DNS guide and i thankyou for that....

What the guide talks about is how to setup your own named.conf which i found very useful thankyou once again....

But what i dont seem to understand is th relationship between the dns configuration tool that the company i purchased the domain of and how to configure it so that it allows me to have a ns1 and ns2 nameserver on my server and the related mx mail exchange for the domain i purchased.

I attached below what the configuration tool at the domain provider uses so users can configure all of this...

Also what i would like to know how does all of this relate to ispconfig....

Prehaps im maybe asking to much and please forgive my ignorance or prehaps lack o knowledge when it comes to dns servers...

I read in the guide that usually most people do not have a full understand ing of how dns servers or bind really works...

All i really have as a goal is to have the domain providers configured right and the configuration of ispconfig right.....

If you could shed some light in anyway i would be aprechiate this very much... :confused::o

regards
brainz

falko 13th March 2006 23:20

Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...92&postcount=4


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.