HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   question about dns, servers, and my client machines. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30345)

meomike2000 14th January 2009 23:31

question about dns, servers, and my client machines.
 
say i were to only have one static ip address from my isp and it was pointed at my dns server. and i also had 3 other servers, but with internal static addresses, one for my web pages,1 for email, and one as a dhcp server for my internal clients machines.

every thing works great from the internal network. i can get my web pages and log into my email, dhcp works great.

the problem is that from the outside world i can only access by dns server with the ip from my isp. i used bind9 for my dns. also my clients can not access the internet or any outside networks.

can this work or do i have to get ip address from my isp for all 3 of my servers.

any help or a point in the right direction would be great.....

thanks mike.

also i am running ubuntu 8.04.1 server.

zcworld 15th January 2009 04:51

personal i would have the WWW/DNS/Email on one box
and make sure the ports on your router are being forward to the right PC IP address
and the firewalll is have them ports open for the services that are on each box

than try a site like canyouseeme.org
and do an port test to see if ur port 80 / 25 / 110 / 53 (u said ur DNS is working outside)

meomike2000 15th January 2009 18:56

yes my dns is visible from outside. i only ask because of network growth in the future, i currently have a setup with all services on one machine. but i still have an issue with my client machines, the desktops we use, i have no router setup on my network. i currently use connection sharing through the server. but i don't know that this is the best way.

i really was just wondering if the above scenario was possible, that is all.

thanks mike

marpada 15th January 2009 20:06

If you don't have a dedicated router (linksys, cisco, etc) but a Linux server working as a router, you have to set up port-forwarding wit iptables. This way you can "publish" sereral services using just one public IP.

<YourPublicIP>:80 -----> <Server1>:80
<YourPublicIP>:110 -----> <Server1>:110

and so

You can take a look at this guides

http://www.howtoforge.com/nat-gatewa...tu-8.10-server
http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/73
________
Digital volcano vaporizer for under 200.00

meomike2000 16th January 2009 03:17

thank you very much, that is the info that i have been looking for!!!!!!!!

mike

marpada 16th January 2009 19:19

You'd better guess zcworld who first gave the correct solution :)
________
Fucktibe
________
Avandia Class Action Lawsuit


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.