HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Backup question (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3016)

Piccent 9th March 2006 20:14

Backup question
 
Hi,

in the "backup" folder in the web folders there is a backup within the maildirs from the users, but when I start the backup from ISPConfig I got a backup without the maildirs... Could you please help?

Greetz

Marc

falko 9th March 2006 20:47

These are two different backups. One is created by a nightly cron job and contains everything, the other one contains only the web directory.

Piccent 10th March 2006 04:00

But in the Zip-file of the backup from the interface there is the "user" directory too, only the Maildir folder is empty...

till 10th March 2006 08:31

Please post an "ls -l" from inside your Maildir folder. I guess the the backup script does not have read permissions on your mail files.

Piccent 10th March 2006 18:12

Yes, you're right, the Maildir and tmp folder has only 700 permission. how can I change this, without changing the permissions? is it possible with sudo???

falko 10th March 2006 18:35

The only way is to change the permissions. If you change the ownership, then no more mails will arrive...

Piccent 10th March 2006 18:42

But this must be done via cronjob, because the permission is changed everytime a new folder is created. Is there no possibility to change s.th. in the script or sudo a command in the script for the backup???

falko 11th March 2006 11:14

The backup created by the cron job should contain everything, because it is run as root.

But the backup you create from the ISPConfig web interface are created as user admispconfig, and they cannot contain everything. It's a permissions problem.

Piccent 11th March 2006 17:55

Yes you're right, but my question is, is it possible to change the "zip" commands in the backup script to "sudo zip" and do it as root?

falko 11th March 2006 21:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Piccent
Yes you're right, but my question is, is it possible to change the "zip" commands in the backup script to "sudo zip" and do it as root?

I haven't tested this, but it should work. But you must put admispconfig into /etc/sudoers.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.