HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Desktop Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Adobe Flash Player vs. Shockwave Flash in Firefox 3.0 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30103)

Mac Kissack 8th January 2009 01:41

Adobe Flash Player vs. Shockwave Flash in Firefox 3.0
 
I just want to confirm both aren't the same thing.
I started using Linux with Fedora 9.
I installed the Shockwave Flash plugin on the Firefox 3 browser included in the system.
Then I upgraded to Fedora 10 and the Flash plugin showed to be present. (I was happy for it.)
But I tried to play a CD with a Flash presentation on it and it wouldn't.
So, I believe Flash Player should be installed.
Am I right?

There is an instruction to add the Adobe Flash Player repository at http://www.howtoforge.com/the-perfec...p-fedora-10-p3

"Next we add the Adobe repository which provides the Flash player and the Adobe Reader:
rpm -Uvh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm


Is this repository right for a x86_64 machine?
Any comment?

falko 8th January 2009 15:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mac Kissack (Post 163467)
I just want to confirm both aren't the same thing.

They are the same thing.

Does your browser show the Flash plugin when you type about:plugins in the address bar?


Quote:

Originally Posted by Mac Kissack (Post 163467)

There is an instruction to add the Adobe Flash Player repository at http://www.howtoforge.com/the-perfec...p-fedora-10-p3

"Next we add the Adobe repository which provides the Flash player and the Adobe Reader:
rpm -Uvh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm


Is this repository right for a x86_64 machine?
Any comment?

I don'T think this will work on an x86_64 system (although it says "noarch"). I'd go to http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html and download the 64-bit plugin for Linux (the link is at the bottom of the page).

Mac Kissack 8th January 2009 22:42

[QUOTE=falko;163553]

Does your browser show the Flash plugin when you type about:plugins in the address bar?

Yes, it does. Shockwave Flash 10.0 r15
And Flash annimations run OK in Firefox while within Internet sites.

My specific problem is I have a CD with a presentation in Flash.
I think it was originally made for Windows systems.
However, the CD is perfectly detected. Even the CD id logo is shown on the desktop.
But the presentation doesn't start automatically.
And when you browse the disk there is a message asking if you want to run an .exe file. That's why I think it was originally made for Windows.

falko 9th January 2009 14:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mac Kissack (Post 163611)
That's why I think it was originally made for Windows.

Yes, that seems to be the case. What else is on the top directory of the CD?

Mac Kissack 10th January 2009 03:07

Hi again, falko.
Well, after inserting the CD a windows is shown which tell the following:
This media contains software considered to start automatically.
Do you want to execute it?

This software will be executed directly from eSpring media. Never execute software you don't trust.
If you are not sure, press Cancel.

After pressing 'Execute', there is another window shown which says:
Error executing software
Executing program couldn't be found.

When I browse the CD the following files are listed:
autorun.inf, espring.exe, icon.ico

At this time I do not remember if Flash Player can be played in Windows outside an Internet browser.
In my configuration I have Flash as a plugin within Firefox 3.

Thank you for your time anyway, falko.

falko 10th January 2009 14:12

It seems as if this is a Windows-only CD. It might be possible to run it under WINE though...

Mac Kissack 4th February 2009 01:16

Thank you, falko. So it seems to be.
And excuse me for the delayed answer.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.