HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Technical (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Clone from VM to physical machine (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29772)

staticanime 25th December 2008 21:18

Clone from VM to physical machine
 
Ok, this will prob make for a very daft question, but I'll fire away.

I have a dedicated webserver with OVH. Since they're miserable, they won't let me install from stratch, so I have to put-up with their extra bloat, aka "tweaks".

Now, I have a VM (VMware Workstation) of the server the way I want it, and I was wondering if there is a way to clone my VM to the ovh server and overwrite their image. Do remember, all I have is SSH acccess, I have no physical access.

So, the question stands, can I get my VM onto the server, and running as the default OS, overwriting the existing OS?

Thanks for the help....

falko 26th December 2008 13:22

Does your server have a rescue system that you can boot into?

staticanime 26th December 2008 14:58

Yeah, they do, but I have no idea what distro it's based, and the few times I used it, it seemed very, very limited. You think I could boot into that, then maybe scp the files from my VM to the server HDD, edit the hostname, network config, etc, and then install grup to the server's hdd?

falko 27th December 2008 12:59

Yes, that should work. You can try this with netcat: http://www.howtoforge.com/useful-uses-of-netcat

staticanime 27th December 2008 17:33

Ok, thanks. I'm gonna continue tinkering at the VM for now, and I'll clone it closer to the system's renewal time (February)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.