HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Setting up new Ubuntu desktop/server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29465)

jkrell 12th December 2008 19:14

Setting up new Ubuntu desktop/server
 
Hi guys. I cratered my Fedora server through my own stupidity, but I have managed to back up all my data and am ready to do a fresh install and setup. However, I am thinking about using this as an opportunity to switch to Ubuntu. My main reason for this is that I feel like lots of apps are available for Ubuntu but not Fedora, since Ubuntu has more mainstream acceptance.

Anyway, there's a question in here somewhere and that is: If I want to have a server running (web, media (samba), ssh, etc.), but I want to also use the Gnome desktop and have things like Compiz and AWN enabled, is it OK to start with Ubuntu desktop and install the necessary server stuff on top of that? I think Ubuntu server is just command line so I cannot start there. Will I be missing anything I need if I start with Ubuntu desktop (i.e., are there other components I will need to install, in addition to what is described in the "Perfect Server" howto)?

My thought was I would follow your "Perfect Desktop" setup and then do the "Perfect Server" setup on top of that. Will that work?

Thanks in advance.

falko 13th December 2008 18:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkrell (Post 159551)
is it OK to start with Ubuntu desktop and install the necessary server stuff on top of that?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkrell (Post 159551)
Will I be missing anything I need if I start with Ubuntu desktop (i.e., are there other components I will need to install, in addition to what is described in the "Perfect Server" howto)?

No.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkrell (Post 159551)
My thought was I would follow your "Perfect Desktop" setup and then do the "Perfect Server" setup on top of that. Will that work?

Yes. :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:17.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.