HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   How to remote access ubuntu Breezy from windowes!!!! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2922)

moutraji 6th March 2006 17:13

How to remote access ubuntu Breezy from windowes!!!!
 
Hello Guys!!! This is my first posting on this forum and i'm looking forward to get the complete help i need because this forum i believe is the number one forum of solving linux problems!!! Any way, I need help on how to remote access ubuntu breezy from windowes xp????!!! How can i see the ubuntu environment from xp and able to use it!!! If any one knows, please provide me with a complete tutorial and i will really appreciated !!! Thanks guys!!!

noahlau 6th March 2006 18:07

use ssh to remote access

use putty:

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

moutraji 6th March 2006 18:33

Thanks man for your help!!! I have another question... Do i have to install putty on both ubuntu and xp in order to have it working????

noahlau 6th March 2006 18:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by moutraji
Thanks man for your help!!! I have another question... Do i have to install putty on both ubuntu and xp in order to have it working????

use it in xp

falko 6th March 2006 18:49

No, you just install it on Windows. There's already an SSH server on your Ubuntu system, and PuTTY will connect to it. :)

moutraji 6th March 2006 19:08

Ok thanks guys !!! I will try it now and will update you with both cases!!!

moutraji 6th March 2006 20:00

Hey Guys!!! I think i have a littel problem with the configuration of Putty!!!! I just put my ip address and it gave me an error saying the following:

Unable to open connection to http
Host does not exist.

I think i have done something wrong because i don't know how to configure Putty!!! By the way the computer that is runing ubuntu in which session should it be running, default one or Gnome one,,, Thanks guys

moutraji 6th March 2006 20:18

OHHH !!!! I got that working!!!! But through sudo terminal.... I don't want to access it like that, i want to access the GNU of ubuntu on my windows!!!! Help!!!

till 6th March 2006 20:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by moutraji
Hey Guys!!! I think i have a littel problem with the configuration of Putty!!!! I just put my ip address and it gave me an error saying the following:

Unable to open connection to http
Host does not exist.

Your IP does not start with http. I guess you entered something like http://192.168.0.1 instead of 192.168.0.1

Quote:

By the way the computer that is runing ubuntu in which session should it be running, default one or Gnome one
Thats equal. SSH is a server process.

moutraji 6th March 2006 20:25

yeah i fixed that!!!! But now i want to be able to see ubuntu's environmnt on windows, how can i do that!!!!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.