HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Unable to repair/re-install ubunt svr ubuntu 8.04/8.10 on RAID 5 LVM (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29152)

lucy_t 2nd December 2008 21:01

Unable to repair/re-install ubunt svr ubuntu 8.04/8.10 on RAID 5 LVM
 
I wanted to say thanks t all of the posts/tutorials and guides I have used to give me a few years of happiness in using ubuntu.

I have made a bit of a mistake I believe which has left me with a problem....

I have a HP xw4300 with 4 sata disks and 1 ide disk. The 4 sata disks are in a RAID 5 set with 1 LVM. The LVM is for Home and spare space on the sata disks in various stripes or mirrors is used for swap,var and tmp. On the IDE there is root, boot and USR.

I previously broke the IDE disk and replaced it and on installing 8.04 was able to identify Home, swap, var & tmp and rebuild the new disk and all was well.

Recently I wished to try KDE 4.1 whish did not go well and on removal it got even worse mainly through me tinkering with bits of debian I did not completely understand. So I thought I would move to ubuntu 8.10 svr and so re-installed the ide disk. It did not see the LVM but I though I would be able to see it once the build completed and I got a GUI to work with. I was wrong, and on the subsequent re-install of 8.04 and being able to see the LVM and set home, swap, var & tmp when the machine re-booted it cannot write to any of the sata disks and therefore will not boot beyond grub.

Is there any way I can re-install a sever OS with a gui and re-mount the LVM happily?

Many thanks in advance for reading through this and for any comments you have.

LT

falko 3rd December 2008 17:34

You can try to boot into a rescue system (e.g. with Knoppix) and try to undo the recent changes. This should give you the idea: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-res...d-with-knoppix

lucy_t 3rd December 2008 21:04

OK, I'll have a go with Knoppix and see how I get on, thanks for the suggestion.

L

lucy_t 17th December 2008 19:43

I booted the machine with Knoppix but it cannot handle LVM's. So I have an old backup I'll go back to but can someone suggest what disk config I should use for a server to serve media to XBMC with 5 disks 4 sata x 500GB and 1 ide 80GB.

Should I use RAID, should I use LVM's. cheers for any pointers.

LT

falko 18th December 2008 13:06

Knoppix can handle LVM. Just run
Code:

modprobe md
modprobe linear
modprobe multipath
modprobe raid0
modprobe raid1
modprobe raid5
modprobe raid6
modprobe raid10

cp /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf_orig
mdadm --examine --scan >> /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf

mdadm -A --scan

/etc/init.d/lvm start

in Knoppix.

lucy_t 19th December 2008 20:59

managed to get raid and the lvm mounted in knoppix and could see the files in the /home area. So after this I wanted to see if I could restart the install of Ubuntu 8.10 using the alternative installer repair to get myself up and going again. his is currently what I am working on and have managed to re-install a few times and currently get a

Grub error 15 and a hanging screen with no propmpt. I'll post back if I can find out why this is happening as I am re-formatting all partitions apart from /home on the LVM.

Cheers,

LT

UPDATE - The alternative and server install are not happy working with the raid and LVM setup so I am using knoppix to back data off the lvm and then going for a re-build. Than ks for your help, and any suggestions for partitioning the 4 1TB disks for a file server (Myth TV) and where to put the boot, swap,var,tmp and home e.g. split the raid sets or combine them and partition up?

LT


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.