HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   CentOS 5 Net Install - What to enter in Nameserver field? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29127)

efluence 1st December 2008 22:01

CentOS 5 Net Install - What to enter in Nameserver field?
 
Hi everyone! I'm new to setting up linux servers and am after a bit of advice!

This picture asks my question in a nutshell:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/t...363037/img.gif
(I have tried my router, my ISP's nameservers as per window's ipconfig /all, and public DNS's)

It works great if I choose DHCP, but really I want to set everything up manually. But I don't know what to put in the nameserver field?

If you want more detail, please do read on!

It's a CentOS 5.2 net install ISO.

If I choose manual config:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...979816/img.gif

I get the screen I've linked to at the top of this post and don't know what to put in the Name Server field. Everything I've tried in this field results in this for a few minutes:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...773522/img.gif

Then I get this:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...194759/img.gif

But if I try and download an image as per above, I get this for five minutes:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...317030/img.gif

Then this:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...401216/img.gif

However, if I choose DHCP it all works. But that's not teaching me anything, I would rather know what I'm doing wrong!

With DHCP I get this:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...741792/img.gif

Then I get this:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...240471/img.gif

And this:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...530776/img.gif

Followed by this, as expected:
http://www.yetanotherimagehost.com/i...705850/img.gif


I really appreciate any help.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

falko 2nd December 2008 15:38

You can use your ISP's nameservers. If that doesn't work, try 145.253.2.75 or 213.191.92.86 - these are nameservers from two German ISPs that I usually use.

efluence 2nd December 2008 23:01

The problem was I needed to Bridge the network connection in my virtualisiation software - it was previously set to NAT!

I used my DNS as per ipconfig /all and all is well :)

Thanks for your reply though, I would've spent ages trying to find out if I was entering the right IP otherwise!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.