HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2814)

cpcpy 1st March 2006 09:09

all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder
 
i'm not sure whether this problem is the result of my configuration, or due to my ISP...

mails sent (either via shell, or POP3) to yahoo / gmail (and i bet hotmail too) ends up in their SPAM folder

the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")

any way i can check or do? :(

thanks

falko 1st March 2006 09:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by cpcpy
the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")

Do you have static IP addresses?

Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?

cpcpy 1st March 2006 09:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Do you have static IP addresses?

Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?

yes i'm using static IP address...

i do not have PTR/SPF records (but i have other boxes at another isp without PTR records) they have no such problem...
btw, how do i set PTR / SPF? do i set from ISPConfig? set to what value?

i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"

====================================

pls help me understand...

my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com

if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,

when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?

or does it matter?

thanks

till 1st March 2006 11:32

Check if your IP is not on a blacklist as falko suggested. A good starting point for this is http://www.spamcop.net

falko 1st March 2006 14:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by cpcpy
i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"

====================================

Code:

dig -x 203.81.39.42

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> -x 203.81.39.42
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 61294
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;42.39.81.203.in-addr.arpa.    IN      PTR

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
39.81.203.in-addr.arpa. 3600    IN      SOA    dns1.pacific.net.sg. hostmaster.pacific.net.sg. 1133150170 21600 1800 1209600 86400

;; Query time: 111 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar  1 13:36:12 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 109

You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.

cpcpy 1st March 2006 14:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.

thanks - have asked my ISP to add a PTR record...


btw, do you have answer for my previous question?
==================================================
pls help me understand...

my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com

if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,

when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?

or does it matter?

thanks
==================================================

falko 1st March 2006 22:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by cpcpy
when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?

It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.

cpcpy 2nd March 2006 10:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.

i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...

i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!

lets hope for the best...

falko 2nd March 2006 17:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by cpcpy
i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...

i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!

I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?

cpcpy 3rd March 2006 02:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?

yes both are the same box - i'd prefer to change the IP to 42 rather than change DNS record

.42 is suppose to be my main IP and also my ispconfig ip

wonder why is it that .41 is seen by the remote server when i initiate a connection from my box to a remote server?

is it because 41 < 42 ?

is there something i can do so that .42 will be used ?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.