![]() |
all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder
i'm not sure whether this problem is the result of my configuration, or due to my ISP...
mails sent (either via shell, or POP3) to yahoo / gmail (and i bet hotmail too) ends up in their SPAM folder the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled") any way i can check or do? :( thanks |
Quote:
Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses? Do you have SPF records for your domains? Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist? |
Quote:
i do not have PTR/SPF records (but i have other boxes at another isp without PTR records) they have no such problem... btw, how do i set PTR / SPF? do i set from ISPConfig? set to what value? i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail" ==================================== pls help me understand... my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com, when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ? or does it matter? thanks |
Check if your IP is not on a blacklist as falko suggested. A good starting point for this is http://www.spamcop.net
|
Quote:
Code:
dig -x 203.81.39.42 |
Quote:
btw, do you have answer for my previous question? ================================================== pls help me understand... my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com, when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ? or does it matter? thanks ================================================== |
Quote:
|
Quote:
===================================== Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800 ===================================== and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter... i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder! lets hope for the best... |
Quote:
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41? |
Quote:
.42 is suppose to be my main IP and also my ispconfig ip wonder why is it that .41 is seen by the remote server when i initiate a connection from my box to a remote server? is it because 41 < 42 ? is there something i can do so that .42 will be used ? |
| All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.