HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Guide for creating new users (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2746)

0p3r4 25th February 2006 20:43

Guide for creating new users
 
Hello again, I wonder if there is some sort of guide anywhere for setting up new users... Like if i where to create user "blablabla", what steps do i need to take in order to give that user a blablabla.myhost.mydomain adress ?

If this is stated in any of the guides i would be really glad if someone could tell me where to start looking, thanks a million!

Cheers

till 26th February 2006 10:01

I dont think that tehere are step by step instructions, but its really simple:

1) Login ti ISPConfig.
2) Create a new reseller or if you dont want to use resellers, skip this step and use the admin as reseller in the next step.
3) Create a client.
3) Create a website for the domain.

The Icons to create resellers, clients and websites are all in the upper menu.

falko 26th February 2006 16:25

In addition to Till's post: after you've created the web site in ISPConfig, go to the "User & Email" tab. You can create new users (email and FTP) there.

hairydog2 26th February 2006 18:49

We have all the clients under one reseller account to make it easier to see stats all in one place.

We set it up so that there is a folder for each user, and in this folder is the user's account and all the websites for that user. A little more trouble to set up, but easier afterwards.

0p3r4 2nd March 2006 14:52

Thanks for your replies :), i've done what you said earlier but i still cant go to my new site by entering the adress that i've given it. I use a dynamic dns pointing to the servers ip-adress that gives me an adress like so: xxx.mine.nu

My newly created site is given the hostname "www" and the domain "xxx.mine.nu". Wouldnt that give the site an adress like "www.xxx.mine.nu"? I'm pretty confident the problem is me lacking the knowledge and not a bug or something, so would someone please tell what might be doing wrong?

Thanks :)

falko 2nd March 2006 16:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0p3r4
My newly created site is given the hostname "www" and the domain "xxx.mine.nu". Wouldnt that give the site an adress like "www.xxx.mine.nu"? I'm pretty confident the problem is me lacking the knowledge and not a bug or something, so would someone please tell what might be doing wrong?

Do you have an entry on the Co-Domains tab with an empty hostname and xxx.mine.nu as domain? If not, add it!

0p3r4 3rd March 2006 01:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Do you have an entry on the Co-Domains tab with an empty hostname and xxx.mine.nu as domain? If not, add it!

Yes i have... cant figure out whats wrong :/

Edit: The site shows up if i only type "xxx.mine.nu" as the URL... while the browser says "www.xxx.mine.nu" cannot be found...

falko 3rd March 2006 10:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0p3r4
Yes i have... cant figure out whats wrong :/

Edit: The site shows up if i only type "xxx.mine.nu" as the URL... while the browser says "www.xxx.mine.nu" cannot be found...

Nothing's wrong. You only registered xxx.mine.nu, not www.xxx.mine.nu, therefore www.xxx.mine.nu doesn't exist in DNS and therefore can't be found.

0p3r4 3rd March 2006 23:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Nothing's wrong. You only registered xxx.mine.nu, not www.xxx.mine.nu, therefore www.xxx.mine.nu doesn't exist in DNS and therefore can't be found.

Do i have to register a second dynamic dns at www.dyndns.org (the one im using), or can i set this internally with the dns-options in ISP-config?

falko 3rd March 2006 23:26

You'd have to do this at dyndns.org.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.