HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Configuring webalizer per domain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26789)

pjdevries 12th September 2008 18:45

Configuring webalizer per domain
 
Is there a way to configure webalizer per web site? From what I can see in webalizer.php, it uses /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf for each and every web site, which makes the resulting statistics not very usefull. Must I modify webalizer.php in such a way that it can read web site specific config files? If so, I guess I have to apply the modification each time I update ISPConfig. Or am I missing something and is there an alternative way to configure webalizer?

till 12th September 2008 19:02

Quote:

From what I can see in webalizer.php, it uses /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf for each and every web site, which makes the resulting statistics not very usefull.
Why should the statistics not be useful? All relevant variables that need to be changed for the different sites are given on the shell and not taken from this conf file.

If you dont like this setup, you will have to change the webalizer.php file.

pjdevries 12th September 2008 20:50

Thanks for the reply Till.

I was under the impression that all (or most) of the configuration options have to be set in webalizer.conf.
Quote:

All relevant variables that need to be changed for the different sites are given on the shell and not taken from this conf file.
I don't understand what you mean by that. Could you clarify it a bit?

till 12th September 2008 22:08

Have a look in the webalizer.php file, you will see that the relevant variables are passed as command line parameter to the webalizer binary.

pjdevries 13th September 2008 12:07

As I pointed out in my first post, I did that and it's why I know that the configuration file is the only command line variable which is passed as a fixed path instead of a shell variable. If that fixed path were replaced with a variable which is initialized for instance with .../web/log/webalizer.conf if it exists or otherwise with the default /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf, it would allow for site specific webalizer configuration.

Obviously I do know how modify webalizer.php appropriately, but it also means I have to make that modification with each ISPConfig update and I prefer not to mess with the standard ISPConfig code. So I was hoping for another solution which I guess there isn't.

falko 13th September 2008 12:14

Per-website webalizer configurations are currently not supported.

pjdevries 13th September 2008 12:24

Hi Falko. Thanks for your input as well and I realize it currently isn't supported. I am merely looking for a way to make a maintainable adjustment, which I don't have to apply with every ISPConfig update. ISPConfig updates always make me a bit nervous because I host a couple of sites for others people. Adjustments to the standard ISPConfig code, especially ones that I have to apply with every update, obviously increases the risk of errors occurring.

Have a nice weekend.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.