HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ISPConfig3 : glue record? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26697)

omry 9th September 2008 09:03

ISPConfig3 : glue record?
 
Hi,
I have one server, and I am trying to setup something like this:

host name: domain.com
dns server ns1.domain.com

now, during a lookup for domain.com, ns1.domain.com will be needed, which in turn again require domain.com.

I am not sure how this can work.
if I add ns1.domain.com to the dns server running on my server, how will it be resolved by someone?

I read something about glue records, but it's not clear to me which server should accept the glue record for ns1.domain.com -> ip-address.

can anyone shed some light on this? :)

Thanks.

till 9th September 2008 09:11

The glue record has to be added by the company where you bought the domain name and not in your own dns server.

omry 9th September 2008 09:17

Thanks Till,
it's not clear to me how that would work.

my domain is from goddaddy, and in the godaddy administration panel I can enter the host name for my dns servers, not the ip.

so, if I put ns1.domain.com there, how will anyone be able to resolve ns1.domain.com ?

falko 10th September 2008 17:09

I don't know the GoDaddy interface, so I think you will have to contact the GODaddy support.

Here's how it works for another registrar: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.