HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26528)

ingvar 3rd September 2008 05:48

ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems
 
I recently setup a server following 'The Perfect Server - Fedora 9' instructions (excellent guide by the way). However being a complete noob at this kind of thing I am struggling with the final touches of the ISPconfig setup.

Currently I am doing a test setup at home with my own network, but if I can get it to work properly I may deploy a server in a more realistic environment further on (which is why I am trying out ISPconfig for easier management later).

Anyway, what I have done so far, and where I am currently stuck:
I followed the guide and installed the server software and then ISPconfig. I had no major issues with any of that. The issue I had were that the gdm wouldn't start after the installation but I found that there was a line added to /etc/shells (/SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL) which prevented gdm to start. Not sure if this is a bug in the ISPconfig setup for Fedora 9 but anyway, once the line was removed everything started fine. However I accidentally encrypted the RSA keys so I had to manually type in the password at reboot. Not a major issue to me but I changed this by following this post:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...58&postcount=4
Further more I also changed from https to http hosting of ISPconfig configuration page following this guide:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3732 (because I was having some problems with logging in I thought it might help, but it didn't really affect my problem).

I also installed roundcube for webmail following the guide to install it to webmail.mydomain.com

My problem now is the following. From the actual server machine I can log into the configuration page with 192.168.123.123:81 or www.mydomain.com:81 (192.168.123.123 www.mydomain.com is in the /etc/hosts file). If I try www.mydomain.com I get the shared IP page (not sure if this is the correct behaviour but it might be, given that I haven't added any webpage at all). The problem is that if I try to login to the configuration page from anywhere else I get nothing. I get timeout or something saying that the address appears to be correct but there is no response from the server. My server is behind an adsl router modem, but the behaviour is the same if I try from any computer on the lan (other than the server and even if I add the server local IP to that machines /etc/hosts) or from the outside.
I have forwarded ports 80, 81 and even 53 (UDP/TCP) and also tried to add my server as DMZ with no luck. I have a feeling all these things are related to some DNS setup or lack thereof in ISPconfig or somewhere else. I have not actually setup anything in ISPconfig other than the defaults during installation, but I figured I should be able to access the configuration page anyway. Am I wrong?

It could be something trivial I am missing since I have never setup a proper server before. Any help would be much appreciated!

Additional info:
I have a domainname (mydomain.com in this example) which I point to the name servers at zoneedit.com. There I setup A records for mydomain.com, www.mydomain.com, mail.mydomain.com and ftp.mydomain.com all poining to my routers static public IP (60.123.123.123) and an MX record mail.mydomain.com. I am not really sure how this works but since they just translate to my public IP and then get forwarded to my server through the router portforward, how does the ISPconfig know which of the domains I am actually loooking for?

hostname and hostname -f both give me - testserver.mydomain.com (testserver was used during ISPconfig setup but the server name in the server settings still says "server 1" and host name www).

When I first setup roundcube I used the pkg and I could access it locally from the server on www.mydomain.com/webmail but then I removed it and installed it manually following the guide for webmail.mydomain.com. If I try webmail.mydomain.com locally I get an error message (error 500 I think it was but I am not by my server computer at the moment) which may just be some unrelated issue which is not my primary concern right now, but I am letting you know in case it is related.

Sorry about the long rant but I hope someone can point me to my problem(s).

ingvar 4th September 2008 15:17

It sorted itself out. Actually I still don't know what went wrong, but I reinstalled ISPconfig again using the same settings except that I chose not to encrypt the keys from the beginning and I also chose http. It all just suddenly worked.

Now there is another more specific question I have. In roundcube there is normally no way for email users to change their passwords. If you want to do that you can enable mail login for the site and then reach it on http://mywebsite.com:81/mailuser/.

Since this is a bit awkward and definitely not what people are used to doing it is better to have the password change from the webmail client (roundcube in my case).

In DirectAdmin this can be done by adding a frame to roundcube with some commands from DirectAdmin (http://youserver:2222/CMD_CHANGE_EMAIL_PASSWORD). (see http://www.directadmin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21684 for details ).
Is there a similar function in ISPconfig or does someone know of another way of doing this?

falko 4th September 2008 16:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by ingvar (Post 143560)
In DirectAdmin this can be done by adding a frame to roundcube with some commands from DirectAdmin (http://youserver:2222/CMD_CHANGE_EMAIL_PASSWORD). (see http://www.directadmin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21684 for details ).

No, this is not possible in ISPConfig.

BradBartholomew 24th January 2009 12:00

ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems
 
hi,

It sorted itself out. Actually I still don't know what went wrong, but I reinstalled ISPconfig again using the same settings except that I chose not to encrypt the keys from the beginning and I also chose http. It all just suddenly worked.

www.staffingpower.com

BradBartholomew 9th February 2009 10:58

ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems
 
hi,
Currently I am doing a test setup at home with my own network, but if I can get it to work properly I may deploy a server in a more realistic environment further on (which is why I am trying out ISPconfig for easier management later).

www.staffingpower.com

sentersoftech.

ErikBam 30th March 2009 13:53

ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems
 
hi,
Nice post! Especially the topic about WP plugin. Very informtive. Thanks.

http://sentersoftech.com/senter/happy.gif

www.sentersoftech.com

HaydenHarnet 31st July 2010 14:13

used to have same problem here , can you explain more how you did BradBartholomew .
Wireless routers home -- linksys e2000 review


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.