HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Developers' Forum (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Unable to change Domain Name under Management ->> Setting (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26252)

cbfeagle 23rd August 2008 19:39

Unable to change Domain Name under Management ->> Setting
 
Hello

This is my first post so please bear with me.
I am trying to change the domain name of my ISPConfig server from cbfeagle.homeip.net (dyndns.com name) to cbfeagle.info (godaddy registered name so that I can be able to get to my ISPConfig server1 which is behind a Linksys Router.

I tried to follow the HOWTO relating to ISPConfig and Godaddy but it would not work for me.

I have everything changed in the system and it shows up as cbfeagle.info but when I try to change it in ISPConfig --> Management ->> Server ->> Settings, it appears to take the change but nothing actually gets changed.

I thought I could delete it and start over but I get an error message (in German with an English Interface) that says:
Fehler beim Löschen des Dokumentes, tree_id konnte nicht ermittelt werden

First of all I don't know what it is telling me so I don't know what to do to fix it.

Can anyone help me determine why I cannot change the Domain Name?

I would prefer not to reinstall but....

falko 24th August 2008 16:27

The server name in the ISPConfig settings does not have any direct influence on any configuration files. Where exactly (in which files) does the old hostname appear?

till 24th August 2008 17:13

Quote:

I have everything changed in the system and it shows up as cbfeagle.info but when I try to change it in ISPConfig --> Management ->> Server ->> Settings, it appears to take the change but nothing actually gets changed.
If the old hostname appears again in the settings panel after you cliecked on save, the ISPConfig is not properly installed on your server. You most likely installed the sql dump manually and this caused the setup script to fail.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:16.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.