HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   set up two dns with public IP master and slave (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26055)

-crisstm- 15th August 2008 10:05

set up two dns with public IP master and slave
 
Hi all,

i want to set up two server from diffrent location one master and one slave .
i need to obtain redundancy and when the first server goes down must to work the second and when the secondary server goes down work to primary, and when work both obtain redundancy.
here i explain what i do:
to my registrat i tell
ns1.xdigital.ro 89.122.18.58
ns2.xdigital.ro 86.34.232.110
that's my public ip where is located my servers

on my ispconfig to first server i set up:

*Management->Server->Settings
Hostaname ns1
Domain xdigital.ro
Ip 89.122.18.58
IP List 89.122.18.58
86.34.232.110
DNS tab on
default Ns1 89.122.18.58
default ns2 86.34.232.110

*ISP Manager->ISP Site->Hostname www
Domain xdigital.ro
IP 89.122.18.58

*DNS Manager->xdigital.ro as a primary domain
Domain SOA xdigital.ro
IP 89.122.18.58
In Option tab i set up
Nameserver 1: ns1.xdigital.ro
Nameserver 2: ns2.xdigital.ro
On the Records tab i set up the A record
Hostname www
IP 89.122.18.58
Hostname mail same IP
Hostname ns1 same IP
at MX i set up
host mail.xdigital.ro 10 priority

on my ispconfig to second server i set up:

*Management->Server->Settings
Hostaname ns1
Domain xdigital.ro
Ip 86.34.232.110
IP List 89.122.18.58
86.34.232.110
DNS tab on
default Ns1 89.122.18.58
default ns2 86.34.232.110

*ISP Manager->ISP Site->Hostname www
Domain xdigital.ro
IP 86.34.232.110

*DNS Manager->xdigital.ro as a slave domain
Domain SOA xdigital.ro
IP master DNS 89.122.18.58

This is all but doesn't work my domain xdigital.ro. On the same server i have other domain wich is working fine. where am i wrong?
thank's in advance

falko 16th August 2008 11:40

What you're doing is roundrobin DNS, i.e., you have two different IP addresses for your domain in DNS. This does not provide high-availability, because if one server goes down, and a user's PC gets the IP address of that server, he cannot reach your site.

If oyu want high-availability, you need a load balancer with a virtual IP address: http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...at-debian-etch

-crisstm- 17th August 2008 12:21

Hi Falko
 
Thank's for you reply, but I don't have debian, i work with centos 4.6, and i want to make with that 2 static IP, two servers DNS,WEB,FTP,Mail, and i need when master server goes down, work slave server and vice versa.
How can i made this with centos and ISPConfig?
Thank's

falko 18th August 2008 12:47

As I said before, you need a load-balancer with a virtual IP. This might work for CentOS: http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...rtbeat-fedora8

-crisstm- 18th August 2008 22:09

ok thank's
 
ok thank's for that tutorial but is working with ISPConfig?
Because i have ISPConfig installed on both server
And for Mail and ftp it's working ?
And what happened when one client modify mysql databases meenwhile one server is down? the secondary server will send all modification to the primary when is up?

falko 19th August 2008 14:50

You must make your services (http, smtp, etc.) listen on the virtual IP address.

Regarding MySQL, you can set up master-master replication: http://www.howtoforge.com/mysql5_mas...on_debian_etch

-crisstm- 19th August 2008 21:35

ok how can i make to listen a virtual IP?

-crisstm- 19th August 2008 21:41

and all tutorials is for debian. why? centos is not so good? debian is very complicated, cmd line is too much command key...and so on. security is same to microsoft windows = doesn't work.
security for me is the best when it's work, and filter what i need and block what i don't need. but in windows block everything, that is not security for me. and debian is the same.so exist tutorial for centos?

falko 20th August 2008 14:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by crisstm (Post 141501)
and all tutorials is for debian. why? centos is not so good? debian is very complicated, cmd line is too much command key...and so on. security is same to microsoft windows = doesn't work.
security for me is the best when it's work, and filter what i need and block what i don't need. but in windows block everything, that is not security for me. and debian is the same.

I have no idea what you're trying to tell me. Debian is not more or less secure than CentOS.


Quote:

Originally Posted by crisstm (Post 141501)
so exist tutorial for centos?

This should work for CentOS as well: http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...rtbeat-fedora8

-crisstm- 21st August 2008 10:08

for example i want to copy the site in www under debian, and i have no rights.debian tell me i have not permission to copy.why? why i can't login as root?
that is wrong security for me, is stop all access for me.
in centos i can login as root, i can copy all files in www...and so on
sorry for my english i'm romanian.
i will read carefully that tutorial and i have one question. to make that it is possible with two servers and two ip, or i need more. and it's working with Public IP, or it's working just in my internal network.
for that i must configure additional IP under ISP Config(from tutorial a.k.a the perfect server)?
and that ip belong to another server from my network? or just change my network card IP.
thank's


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.