HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Hardy Heron (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server) (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25269)

Carlo Gambino 19th July 2008 17:33

The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Hardy Heron (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server)
 
Hello All,

I have been toying with the idea of hosting my own server recently and stumbled upon falko's tutorial with Ubuntu. I have been going pretty well but have run into trouble with configuring postfix.

Page 5 directs the following changes to the postfix config:

Code:

postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_local_domain ='
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_security_options = noanonymous'
postconf -e 'broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_authenticated_header = yes'
postconf -e 'smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination'
postconf -e 'inet_interfaces = all'
echo 'pwcheck_method: saslauthd' >> /etc/postfix/sasl/smtpd.conf
echo 'mech_list: plain login' >> /etc/postfix/sasl/smtpd.conf

However, when I attempt to do this, I get:
Code:

postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_local_domain ='
>postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes'
postconf: fatal: edit accepts no multi-line input

Where am I going wrong?

till 19th July 2008 18:44

Plesae excute the commandds line by line.

Carlo Gambino 19th July 2008 18:46

That's what I was doing.

First I entered:

Code:

postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_local_domain ='
Which returned:
Code:

>
Should I not then go on to the next?:
Code:

>postconf -e 'smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes'

till 19th July 2008 18:53

PLease try to copy / past the line to your shell consle or SSH client. The bahaviour that you describe happens if you either forgot the closing ' at the end of the line or you use different quotes at the beginning and ending if the command.

Carlo Gambino 19th July 2008 21:19

Thanks, Till!

This led me into so many new territories, but to take your suggestions, I needed to SSh into the server from my desktop in order to cut/paste. After some learning, I've gotten it and you're correct. Even though it looks correct to me as I typed it into the server directly, I must have made a mistake somewhere!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.