HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   DNS Question (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24380)

imnotpc 21st June 2008 17:37

DNS Question
 
I'm a new ISPConfig user trying to figure out how to use the DNS Manager and I have a question about configuring reverse DNS records. Is see that ISPConfig creates reverse zone files and records automatically. My problem is that I can't find a way to edit these zone files directly. This is an issue because when I add an A record to one of the hosted zones the reverse record is assigned the domain of the server, not the domain I added the A record to. Alternately, I'm fine with using other tools to manage DNS, but I haven't found a way to disable the DNS module in ISPConfig. Any help is appreciated.

torusturtle 21st June 2008 17:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by imnotpc (Post 132210)
Alternately, I'm fine with using other tools to manage DNS, but I haven't found a way to disable the DNS module in ISPConfig. Any help is appreciated.

You don't have to disable the DNS module if you point to other name servers. ISPConfig will not be contacted for resolving your domains.

imnotpc 21st June 2008 17:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by torusturtle (Post 132211)
You don't have to disable the DNS module if you point to other name servers. ISPConfig will not be contacted for resolving your domains.

True, but I need to use the ISPConfig server as the primary DNS server for those domains and I'd prefer to manage it all from the ISPConfig control panel. If that's not possible then I need to be sure ISPConfig doesn't accidentally overwrite my configuration.

falko 22nd June 2008 13:55

Usually you don't have to care about the reverse zones because they are managed by your hoster/ISP/etc. so you should refer to them and ask them to set a reverse record for your IP.

imnotpc 22nd June 2008 16:18

Yes, that works and will be the answer for now. However I have a block of IPs and I would prefer to manage the RDNS myself. Will ISPConfig 3 have the ability to edit reverse lookup records? If not I'd like to make a feature request. My php skills are limited, but I'd do what I can to help make this happen. Jeff


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.