HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Virtual Hosting: How do I set this up? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2434)

VinceDee 7th February 2006 23:05

Virtual Hosting: How do I set this up?
 
I'm having trouble understanding this whole virtual hosting process (I know, I know, I'm not the first and I appreciate you guys being so helpful and patient with us newbs). I just want to do straight up webhosting for just a couple of sites.

I've already set up my server using ubuntu 5.10 breezy following the HowTo instructions and ISPConfig. Everything appears to be running properly (although I don't know how to test the email system, I was able to log into the ftp and can get a "shared ip" webpage by URLing 192.168.x.x), and ISPConfig is available to my internal network computers and it's accessible from a browser on the internet using https.

Now, I've set up two websites using ISPConfig. Even though I only have one IP address, I understand that they can both be accessible to the Internet using their domain names using virtual hosting. The settings I have are this:

My domain name provider settings:

godaddy.com
currently mydomain1.com and mydomain2.com are set to forward to my ip address

http://24.7.x.x. (I've read your previous postings that I should turn the
forwarding off, but until I get this Linux box set up properly I need to have the domains available for the live site I already have running on my Windows XP box at this address)

godaddy nameservers for both domain names are still set to their default nameservers:

PARK21.SECURESERVER.NET
PARK22.SECURESERVER.NET

they also have a DNS control panel that allows me to change the A host, CNAMES, and MX servers (but I don't change any of that stuff to do what I'm trying to do, right?)


For my router:

I have the http, smtp, ftp, etc forwarding set to point to my 192.168.x.x linux box. The router is set to automatically get it's DNS addresses from my ISP.


For ISPConfig:

Server is named "ubuntu" (hostname, right? the domain is computername.com, so this computer would be located on my internal network at ubuntu.computername.com, right?)

I set up the two websites, each using these settings under ISP Manager:

Hostname: www
Domain: mydomain.com
IP Address: 192.168.x.x
Create DNS: Checked
Create DNS-MX: Checked

Under DNS Manager:

Domain Tab:
Server: Server 1
Domain (SOA): mydomain.com
IP Address: should this be 192.168.x.x or my external ip 24.7.x.x? From the previous posts I've seen, it sounds as if it should be 24.7.x.x.

Options Tab:
Admin Email: admin@domain.com
Nameserver 1: ubuntu.computername.com
Nameserver 2: ubuntu.computername.com

Records Tab:
A Record: IP Address 192.168.x.x, Hostname www
CNAME: nothing entered here
MX: Mailserver domain.com, Hostname www
SPF: Hostname

Which of these settings do I need to change in order for the domain name-based hosting to work? I feel like I'm really close to success here because I can occasionally get the ISPConfig webpages to come up when I'm just messing around with the settings, but I obviously need help here.

Thanks

falko 8th February 2006 00:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by VinceDee
I set up the two websites, each using these settings under ISP Manager:

Hostname: www
Domain: mydomain.com
IP Address: 192.168.x.x
Create DNS: Checked
Create DNS-MX: Checked

Under DNS Manager:

Domain Tab:
Server: Server 1
Domain (SOA): mydomain.com
IP Address: should this be 192.168.x.x or my external ip 24.7.x.x? From the previous posts I've seen, it sounds as if it should be 24.7.x.x.

Options Tab:
Admin Email: admin@domain.com
Nameserver 1: ubuntu.computername.com
Nameserver 2: ubuntu.computername.com

Records Tab:
A Record: IP Address 192.168.x.x, Hostname www
CNAME: nothing entered here
MX: Mailserver domain.com, Hostname www
SPF: Hostname

Which of these settings do I need to change in order for the domain name-based hosting to work? I feel like I'm really close to success here because I can occasionally get the ISPConfig webpages to come up when I'm just messing around with the settings, but I obviously need help here.

Thanks

If I understand you right, the DNS records for mydomsin.com are managed by godaddy. So there's no point in creating the DNS records for this domain again on the ISPConfig server. Remove them.

Do the DNS records for mydomain.com at godaddy point to your router's public IP address? If so, did you forward port 80 from your router to your ISPconfig box?

VinceDee 8th February 2006 01:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
If I understand you right, the DNS records for mydomsin.com are managed by godaddy. So there's no point in creating the DNS records for this domain again on the ISPConfig server. Remove them.

Do the DNS records for mydomain.com at godaddy point to your router's public IP address? If so, did you forward port 80 from your router to your ISPconfig box?

They are managed by godaddy so I'll remove any reference to DNS records under the ISPConfig DNS Manager for these two sites.

By "the DNS records for mydomain.com at godaddy" are you referring to the "A records"? It currently does not point to my public IP address for one of the sites, it points to what I presume is their own nameserver (64.202.189.170). I can easily make it do so. The other site does have it pointing toward my public address. And forwarding port 80 to the ISPConfig box is no problem.

So basically you're saying that if I have a company managing my domains (like godaddy) that I should just:

1. Change their A record to point to my public IP address.
2. Make sure my router is pointing port 80 toward my ISPConfig box
3. Don't create DNS records for my sites in ISPConfig
4. Don't do "domain forwarding" from godaddy for my domains

Thanks

falko 8th February 2006 11:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by VinceDee
By "the DNS records for mydomain.com at godaddy" are you referring to the "A records"?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by VinceDee
So basically you're saying that if I have a company managing my domains (like godaddy) that I should just:

1. Change their A record to point to my public IP address.
2. Make sure my router is pointing port 80 toward my ISPConfig box
3. Don't create DNS records for my sites in ISPConfig
4. Don't do "domain forwarding" from godaddy for my domains

Thanks

Yes.

VinceDee 9th February 2006 18:34

falko, I just wanted to report back that last night I finally got everything squared away and working...thanks for the help. Settings have to be just as you said.

The only other thing was that I apparently didn't have Bind running on the Linux/ISPConfig box. My domains weren't accessible until I turned Bind on. That was the only other thing I did that, it appears, made things work.

Again, thanks. I'm good now.

yurtboy 11th December 2006 22:54

Can you give me a hint on how to change the A record on Godaddy seems like I am in the same spot?

falko 12th December 2006 14:44

GoDaddy has a web interface where you can manage DNS records.

yurtboy 12th December 2006 18:36

I know ( -:
 
Just it was not clear how to get there.
You need to first park your domains, wait and then you can enter the more advance area of the domain
By the way, I used you ISPCONFIG and Godaddy and got somewhere. Not totally there but almost ( -:
Thanks
Al


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.