HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Desktop Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Swap suse10 desktop (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2424)

mphayesuk 7th February 2006 15:14

Swap suse10 desktop
 
How can I swap from gnome to the kde desktop environment in suse 10 without re-isntalling.

falko 7th February 2006 19:00

I'm no SuSE expert, but I bet that you can do it with yast.

dishawjp 22nd February 2006 19:14

Another way would be:

When you get to the blue grub graphical login screen, select "sessions" from the lower left of the screen. Then, from the pop-up menu, select KDE or any other DE that you've installed and may want to try. Continue to log in and the DE that you just chose will become the default DE for that user.

If you didn't install KDE initially when you installed SUSE10, use YaST2 software management tool to install KDE first. Just search KDE and then install at least "kdebase" and "kdelibs" packages. If you have enough disk space, go ahead and install every KDE package :-)

HTH,

Jim Dishaw


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.