HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Ubuntu - VmWare Image has no network (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24118)

Djoko 11th June 2008 22:09

Ubuntu - VmWare Image has no network
 
Hi guys,

i need your help! I downloaded the vmware image "The perfect Server - Ubuntu 8.04" and put it in my vmware-server (on windows).

Even though the network is set to "bridge", the Ubuntu is not able to connect to the net. It says, there is "no eth0".

I know, that the settings in the vmware-server are ok, because i did not encounter this problem with the opensuse image.

My /etc/network/interfaces looks like this:

Quote:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.61
netmask 255.255.255.0
#network 192.168.0.0
#broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.10.1
These settings should work. An "ifconfig" shows me only the "lo"-device

Am I doing something wrong?

Regards,
Djoko

falko 12th June 2008 14:57

Are you sure that 192.168.1.61 is the right IP if your gateway is 192.168.10.1? These are different subnets...

mikeyr 17th June 2008 18:51

I had to delete /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and then reboot to get my vm to see eth0.

That rules file has something in it (I assume the MAC address) in it that is different for every machine.

falko 18th June 2008 18:37

I guess you clicked in Create instead of Keep when you first started the VM: http://www.howtoforge.com/import_vmware_images


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.