HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   FC 4 Perfect Install (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2409)

latcarf 7th February 2006 02:14

FC 4 Perfect Install
 
Hi All

Been sometime since I needed to come by. I just did a fresh install of FC4 and following the HowTo. I didn't get very far... when I went to install apt...
Code:

[root@server1 ~]# rpm -ivh http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm
this is what I got
Code:

Retrieving http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc 7-6.fc4.i386.rpm
/var/tmp/rpm-xfer.lxfsMP: not an rpm package (or package manifest):

a recopy, retry got this
Code:

Retrieving http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm
warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.yaGUEo: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 1ac70ce6
Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
  1:apt                    ########################################### [100%]
error: unpacking of archive failed on file /usr/bin/apt-cache;43e7e254: cpio: read

and one more try for kicks and grins got this
Code:

Retrieving http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm
error: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.sduvJ7: headerRead failed: hdr blob(42126): BAD, read returned 24120
error: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.sduvJ7 cannot be installed

any rational thoughts on what is going on? I did a full FC4 install and there were errors noted during install.

thanks !
lance

falko 7th February 2006 13:39

Maybe your hard disk is full? What's the output of
Code:

df -h
?

latcarf 7th February 2006 23:58

Hi Falko

It is a brand new 160GB SATA. Setting it up so I can transfer my web stuff to it for more room.

I ran Up2date last night and that hosed my graphics. I am gonna go bu Fedora and get the latest version of the ISOs and try a reload see what happens.

tx
lance

latcarf 8th February 2006 04:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by latcarf
Hi Falko

It is a brand new 160GB SATA. Setting it up so I can transfer my web stuff to it for more room.

I ran Up2date last night and that hosed my graphics. I am gonna go bu Fedora and get the latest version of the ISOs and try a reload see what happens.

tx
lance

aahhh! success! but I just did the server install as outlined in your HowTo. Would lead one to believe that the HowTo doesn't support a full install but that does not make sense. Could have been a glith in the install also. I guess if I get bored enough I can try a full install again. :D

Mean while... I'll just install stuff as I need it.

Thanks!

p.s. not sure it matters now but df -h comes back as
Code:

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3            144G  2.1G  134G  2% /
/dev/sda1              99M  9.3M  85M  10% /boot
/dev/shm              125M    0  125M  0% /dev/shm


falko 8th February 2006 11:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by latcarf
p.s. not sure it matters now but df -h comes back as
Code:

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3            144G  2.1G  134G  2% /
/dev/sda1              99M  9.3M  85M  10% /boot
/dev/shm              125M    0  125M  0% /dev/shm


That's no problem.

latcarf 10th February 2006 02:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
That's no problem.

thanks!
p.s. forum is looking good... lot of extras since I was here before. :)

latcarf 11th February 2006 00:14

oops!
 
Okay I got bored and did the full install after all...

Everything went fine with the install and then following the Perfect Setup... until I rebooted :(

when it was doing the checks and got to "Checking filesystems" I get;

Code:

fsck.ext3 Unable to resolve 'Label=/'
and it threw me into shell.

In the Perfect Setup under Quota we edited this line in /etc/fstab to add usrquota and grpquota. I blocked and copied so I don't believe I made a key error but maybe I didn't save it right or something.

Can I fix this from the shell? I am weak at best with console so.... It did cross my mind I could recreate /etc/fstab and copy it there through the shell and hopefully overwrite the old. Now the question is... what would the shell commands be to copy from floppy to dir?

I got a little more info... when it goes to shell it gives a couple options.

Enter root password for maintenance.
(or type Control-D to continue) Control D just reboots back th the same problem.

Entering root password gives
Code:

(repair filesystem) 1 #
I just don't know what to enter here. Exit does just that and reboots.

I figured out the copy command (cp) but cannot get either linux machine to recognize the floppy drive e.g. cp /floppy or /floppy drive or /fd0. I have tried every imaginable combo and name.

cybereatl 11th February 2006 06:18

Let me tell you, that I did same thing and have to reinstall again, my fedora core 4 got this:
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 1

and the howto show just / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 1

after trying a lot I just decide reload, and when got back to that part just leave as is and add up usrquota,grpquota.

If there is any option!!! it's too late for me, but a good chance for you.

Good luck!!

operajill 11th February 2006 07:43

error : Install apt FC4
 
hi,

hope you guys can give me a few how to's. i'm a newbie and was assigned to set up a webserver. i followed the perfect setup for fc4 and came across an error when i try to install: (installing as administrator not as root)

rpm -ivh http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/...6.fc4.i386.rpm

error came as:

warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.XFQMAi: Header V3 DSA signature: NONKEY, key ID 1ac70ce6

error: can't create transaction lock on /var/lib/rpm/_db.000


did the same command as root but error came as:

error: skipping http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux - transfer failed - Unkown or unexpected error

segmentation fault



thanks in advance.

falko 11th February 2006 14:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by latcarf
when it was doing the checks and got to "Checking filesystems" I get;

Code:

fsck.ext3 Unable to resolve 'Label=/'
and it threw me into shell.

In the Perfect Setup under Quota we edited this line in /etc/fstab to add usrquota and grpquota. I blocked and copied so I don't believe I made a key error but maybe I didn't save it right or something.

I guess you copied the whole /etc/fstab from the tutorial instead of just adding
Code:

,usrquota,grpquota
to the appropriate partition? :eek:
The /etc/fstab is just an example, it looked like that on the system I used to write the tutorial, and I think yours had been different. I don't want you to copy it, I just want you to add
Code:

,usrquota,grpquota
to it.
I guess you did not make a backup of the original /etc/fstab? Then you should consider a reinstall...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.