HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   how to autorun/launch ventrilo server on ubuntu desktop? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23985)

nibbles 8th June 2008 05:51

how to autorun/launch ventrilo server on ubuntu desktop?
 
Been looking around on how to do this properly on ubuntu desktop 8.04.

Is there anyone who can help me with trying to get this to work?

Cheers,
Nibbles

nibbles 8th June 2008 19:10

Anyone?
 
57 views ... and no one has a clue? wow...

I know that manually I can run ventrilo server on my Ubuntu Desktop. I simply would like it to autorun at startup so I don't have to manually do it.

I know running as a daemon is possible but not sure on how to do it. Also, since this is a desktop I have to run sudo command for it to properly work.

Any help or if there's a howto that addresses this would be great but so far, I've not been successful in finding one

Nibbles

falko 9th June 2008 12:07

Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/make-deskt...atically-gnome

nibbles 11th June 2008 14:24

Good Suggestion however....
 
Hello Falko,

Hope all is good with you.

Actually, I know this works fine for gui based applications flawlessly however, ventrilo and teamspeak server edition howto's I've found are command base.

For example, to get into ventrilo, I would need to open a terminal session and then go to the install path where ventrilo resides and then run sudo command from the terminal session.

Ventrilo Setup:
http://www.ventrilo.com/setup.php#Server_Installing

Step 10:
e.g.: "sudo ./ventrilo_srv"

I do not want to keep doing this. I would simply like to have it run automatically when Ubuntu Desktop is running.

Nibbles

falko 12th June 2008 14:35

You can add the command at the end of /etc/rc.local.

nibbles 13th June 2008 04:15

Hello Falko,

Yes, that would work however, how would I address the fact that since I need to perform a sudo command for this, I will be prompted for password to let it run.

Is there a way to allow this to work without the need of using sudo command?


Nibbles

falko 13th June 2008 17:59

The commands from /etc/rc.local are run as root, so you don't need sudo.

nibbles 15th June 2008 00:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 131105)
The commands from /etc/rc.local are run as root, so you don't need sudo.


I will give that a try. Thanks for info. As always... love your insight.

Nibbles

Mistah_Transistah 11th May 2010 01:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by nibbles (Post 131287)
I will give that a try. Thanks for info. As always... love your insight.

Nibbles

how would this script look?

Mistah_Transistah 15th May 2010 04:38

how does one write said script?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.