HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Xen acpi problem (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2308)

Guido64 30th January 2006 23:27

Xen acpi problem
 
I'm reading (and setup a test system) with the "The Perfect Xen Setup For Debian And Ubuntu" howto.

I have a AMD Athlon 1GHZ system for this with 384MB Ram.
I needed to enter acpi=force into menu.lst of the host system or else the
system wouldn't poweroff properly.

Now i installed Xen from source the way Falco explained and have again this poweroff problem, the system wont poweroff totally.
I tried acpi=force with Xen but no succes.

I can't find any error messages in /var/log the system just doesnt poweroff properly. Debian closes and the hd's stop spinning then the screen says OS stopped or something nothing else.

Does anybody know how and if this can be solved with Xen?

falko 1st February 2006 15:15

You said you compiled the Xen kernels from the sources. Did you enable the correct ACPI settings in the kernel configuration? Can you post the ACPI related lines of the kernel configuration file (in /boot)?

Guido64 1st February 2006 18:30

hmm good point
 
Hmm no i did not think of that (shame).
Will do that this week and let you know if that worked out.
Thanks!

itobin 7th February 2006 18:37

hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian

falko 7th February 2006 19:52

Did you install all ACPI related packages of your distribution (e.g. acpid on Debian)?

Guido64 7th February 2006 20:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by itobin
hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian


No, i'm sorry didn't have the time yet to look into it.
Have a lot of work right now. When i did figured it out i wil post it here.

itobin 8th February 2006 15:58

Hi,

it works fine when running under the default Debian kernel.

When i installed Xen i also selected ACPI to compile into the new kernel

thanks

Guido64 10th February 2006 23:17

How to add acpi into kernel?
 
Tonight i tried to figure out how to add acpi to the xen kernel for the host system. I never compiled a kernel. How do i add acpi to the xen kernel?

falko 11th February 2006 13:40

When you ru
Code:

make menuconfig
you can add it to the kernel. I'm not quite sure in which submenu you find the ACPI options, so you must search a little bit. ;)

Guido64 11th February 2006 18:39

I wrote before, i compiled the xen kernel from source, and i did, but it didn't feel like i did it myself, i was following your (falko) instructions.

When i need to change something what is not in the howto, like this acpi, then i'm lost hahah
I tried to solve it, searched on google and google groups and everything read a lot of posts.

I did surfed thru the menuconfig sub menu's so i was kind of warm :)
I used the search option / in the menuconfig.

It did found 2 acpi entries about pnp. I thought that where not the right acpi options. so i didn't select those. I wasn't sure menuconfig is used to add kernel options, now i do :)

After a good night of sleep i started again with "Make menuconfig" and there it is right in front of my nose duh. If i did it right it should now being added to the kernel.

wel its not added to the kernel so i'm stil doing something wrong.
i'm going to install the whole host system again maybe that'l help.

I did a clean sarge install on the host system.
I'm now at the point to configure "make menuconfig" again and again the acpi options are gone so i think its not possible to add acpi modules into xen kernel.

I'm lost


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.