HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Installation: in-putting your website (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=214)

bosei 8th August 2005 00:31

Installation: in-putting your website
 
Hi, I am failing miserably with my 1st install of ISPconfig. When it gets to the part: Please enter the host name (e.g www) I put www.

When it gets to the part: Please enter the domain (e.g xyz.de), I want to know if this domain must physically exist. If so, should the previous entry about: ISPConfig web (e.g 192.168.0.1) be the external ip of that xyz.de ???

Please see below for some errors I am experiencing. Hope someone can shed some light.

########## INSTALLATION ##########

Preparing files. Please wait a moment...
All prerequisites are fulfilled.
Here we go...
Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):ispconfig^[[D^
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.20
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):netxonline.co.uk
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Many thanks.

:confused:

bosei 8th August 2005 00:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosei
Hi, I am failing miserably with my 1st install of ISPconfig. When it gets to the part: Please enter the host name (e.g www) I put www.

When it gets to the part: Please enter the domain (e.g xyz.de), I want to know if this domain must physically exist. If so, should the previous entry about: ISPConfig web (e.g 192.168.0.1) be the external ip of that xyz.de ???

Please see below for some errors I am experiencing. Hope someone can shed some light.

########## INSTALLATION ##########

Preparing files. Please wait a moment...
All prerequisites are fulfilled.
Here we go...
Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):ispconfig^[[D^
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.20
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):netxonline.co.uk
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Many thanks.

:confused:

It's okay... I just saw a suggestion by Falko in other thread: Ignore host name and use host ip for the domain entry. I guess this means the hostname (e.g www) is referring to the host name of the machine being installed to and not the web prefix 3w. I'm going to try this for the 7th time and hope I have ir right now.

:D

falko 8th August 2005 01:02

If your server is server1.example.com, then the hostname is server1, and the domain is example.com. But server1.example.com must point to the system where ISPConfig is going to be installed.

bosei 8th August 2005 02:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
If your server is server1.example.com, then the hostname is server1, and the domain is example.com. But server1.example.com must point to the system where ISPConfig is going to be installed.


Just tried this and got the same result.


Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.5
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):netex01
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):192.168.1.5
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01

__________________________________________
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.130 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.045 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.035 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.033 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.038 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.033/0.056/0.130/0.037 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping www.192.168.1.5
ping: unknown host www.192.168.1.5
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.129 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.037/0.069/0.129/0.042 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping 192.168.1.5
PING 192.168.1.5 (192.168.1.5) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.124 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms

--- 192.168.1.5 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.046/0.085/0.124/0.039 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig #

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I use a firewall that uses port 81 for web configuration. Could this be the problem. i was hoping to get passed this stage before changing the port for ISPConfig to 8080. :confused:

bosei 8th August 2005 04:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosei
Just tried this and got the same result.


Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.5
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):netex01
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):192.168.1.5
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01

__________________________________________
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.130 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.045 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.035 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.033 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.038 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.033/0.056/0.130/0.037 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping www.192.168.1.5
ping: unknown host www.192.168.1.5
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.129 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.037/0.069/0.129/0.042 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping 192.168.1.5
PING 192.168.1.5 (192.168.1.5) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.124 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms

--- 192.168.1.5 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.046/0.085/0.124/0.039 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig #

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I use a firewall that uses port 81 for web configuration. Could this be the problem. i was hoping to get passed this stage before changing the port for ISPConfig to 8080. :confused:


Ok. A final install seemed to have fixed stuff without me doing anything different but now I have:

"Could not establish an encryted connection because certificate presented by 192.168.1.20 is invalid or corrupted. Error Code: -8182" Help..... How can I fix this without going through the whole :eek: install exercise again?

Cheers

bosei

falko 8th August 2005 08:56

You cannot use netex01 as host name and then enter an IP address as domain. This results in netex01.192.168.1.5 which makes no sense. You can either leave the host name empty and enter an IP address as domain or (preferred) enter a host name and a domain (no IP address!).

bosei 12th August 2005 23:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
You cannot use netex01 as host name and then enter an IP address as domain. This results in netex01.192.168.1.5 which makes no sense. You can either leave the host name empty and enter an IP address as domain or (preferred) enter a host name and a domain (no IP address!).

Success

I ignored the hostname and used Ip address. GREEAAAT! Nice product. I have now forgotten my admin password. Do I have to reinstall?

bosei 13th August 2005 06:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosei
Success

I ignored the hostname and used Ip address. GREEAAAT! Nice product. I have now forgotten my admin password. Do I have to reinstall?


I just re-installed and made sure I noted my password for the next few logins

Phheeww!
:D

falko 13th August 2005 14:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosei
I just re-installed and made sure I noted my password for the next few logins

Good idea! :D

peacengell 26th January 2008 21:35

why this message is dns not configure
 
1 Attachment(s)
im on centos
[root@server ~]# dig @localhost peacengell.org

; <<>> DiG 9.3.3rc2 <<>> @localhost peacengell.org
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
[root@server ~]#

and i get this when i restart

[root@server ~]# mail
Mail version 8.1 6/6/93. Type ? for help.
"/var/spool/mail/root": 1 message 1 new
>N 1 root@server.peacenge Sat Jan 26 20:30 18/766 "WARNING: services not"
& 1
Message 1:
From root@server.peacengell.org Sat Jan 26 20:30:02 2008
Date: Sat, 26 Jan 2008 20:30:01 GMT
From: root <root@server.peacengell.org>
To: root@server.peacengell.org
Subject: WARNING: services not running

Warning: service ftpd not running (server: server.peacengell.org)!

Message generated at January 26, 2008, 20:30


how to configure dns in ISPconfig any tut please thanks


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.