HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   unable to login root in GUI Mode in Suse10 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2066)

saialkesh 14th January 2006 20:26

unable to login root in GUI Mode in Suse10
 
Hi
I have managed to install Suse10 on my pc. The installation was fine and immediately after the installation i was able to login in KDE as root and worked on the GUI desktop.
After having shutdown and restarted the machine, now am unable to login as root in GUI. i can login as other user but not as root. TTY allows me to login as root.

I need to login as root in GUI.

Any suggestions whats to be done.

till 14th January 2006 23:20

You can try to login as root in TTY and the run the command "startx".

But one question, why do you need root login in KDE?

saialkesh 15th January 2006 11:17

Thanks Till. Will try with startx.

I want to know what to do if root wants to log in in KDE. It did allow me immediately after the installation, but stopped on restart.

For knowledge sake, need to know what to do in a scenario like this.

[Till] Sorry, edited your post instead of mine. Redone the changes :)

till 15th January 2006 12:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by saialkesh
For knowledge sake, need to know what to do in a scenario like this.

Edit /etc/opt/kde3/share/config/kdm/kdmrc, find the line with AllowRootLogin
and set it to true and restart kdm with "rcxdm restart".

saialkesh 15th January 2006 20:16

checked the file and it does say allowrootlogin=true. But strangely i still cannot login.

Strange !!!

I did not have this problem in 9.3 Is this something related to Ver 10.0.

I agree its not a good security practice to let root login, but whats making me curious is what is it thats blocking it ?

jchajecki 4th March 2006 14:43

I'm not sure its just a version 10 issue. I'm on 9.3 and I recently started having a similar problem. I start up the machine and I get the GUI login. I log in a root and get what looks like a command window. If I type startkde the desktop then starts up. The copmmand window has the title 'Failsafe'. This only happens loggining in as root. Like yourself, I can log in as another user and KDE starts automatocally, but not for root. I have also checked my kdmrc and AllowRootLogin is set to 'true'. I'm still digging around but I'm equally baffled.

falko 4th March 2006 18:45

Maybe this is some kind of security measure on SuSE? :confused:

jchajecki 5th March 2006 17:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Maybe this is some kind of security measure on SuSE? :confused:

Some distros do indeed disable this be default, and arguably one shouldn't do this, but SuSE hasn't up to now. Mine worked fine until a couple of days ago. I can do as suggested above (have changed to runlevel 3 and log into the text screen then type startx) and it works fine. I will probably stick to this now as it is safer.

jchajecki 5th March 2006 18:11

Just found this. It may explain why some of us are suddenly finding this situation.

http://wiki.suselinuxsupport.de/wikk...wToLoginasroot

jchajecki 6th March 2006 18:41

Just to point out that the article in the link above seems to have been edited and no longer mentions that SuSE released an update to apply this. As`a result, anyone who has autoupdate enabled and configured may find that all of a sudden their root login to GUI starts a restriced xterm rather than the KDE desktop.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.