HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Internet/lan-only lan working (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2065)

Nejko 14th January 2006 21:15

Internet/lan-only lan working
 
I have reinstalled my fedora core 4 like toturial said on howtoforge. I get lan working with eth0 but internet is'nt working. I have router. Server's IP is 192.168.2.103 , my ip and the newtork is 192.168.2.1. How to configure eth0?

THNX !

till 15th January 2006 00:10

Do you have a dedicated router or is your server the router?

Nejko 15th January 2006 08:46

dedicated router, with 4 computers on it. hod do i know that internet is not working? yum update gave me that:

[root@localhost ~]# yum update
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: updates-released
[root@localhost ~]#

and i can ping only computers in my network.

and here is my eth0's config:

DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=static
IPADDR=192.168.2.103
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
NETWORK=192.168.2.1
BROADCAST=192.168.2.255
ONBOOT=yes
MII_NOT_SUPPORTED=yes

what's wrong with it?

thanx for your answers!

till 15th January 2006 13:45

In your eth0 config the gateway is missing.

Nejko 15th January 2006 13:52

what do i add then?

till 15th January 2006 14:09

Not shure how to do it in FC4 as i have currently Ubuntu installed.

Please post the output of:

netstat -rn

If the default route does not point to your gateway, you can set the routing on the commandline with:

/sbin/route add -net 0.0.0.0 gw 1.1.1.1 eth0

where you have to replace 1.1.1.1 with the IP address of your gateway.

Nejko 15th January 2006 15:59

[root@localhost ~]# netstat -rn
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
[root@localhost ~]#



/sbin/route add -net 0.0.0.0 gw 192.168.2.1 eth0

network restart.. still nothing :(

till 15th January 2006 16:04

Ok, seems that your gateway is not set.

Do you have a file: /etc/sysconfig/network

and in the file the setting:

GATEWAY=1.1.1.1

where you have to replace 1.1.1.1 with the internal IP address of your router (gateway).

Nejko 15th January 2006 16:25

i have set the file to:


NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=localhost.localdomain
GATEWAY=192.168.2.1



still not working :(

Nejko 15th January 2006 17:37

got it now workin' with my ppoe gateway :D:confused:

thanks for all your help


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.