HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ISPConfig and mailing list (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20267)

redsector 9th February 2008 14:14

ISPConfig and mailing list
 
Hi all,
I have succesfully installed IPSC developper version (2.3.3) on a Debian Etch followinf the perfect setup giude.
Just before installing ISPC i added also libxml2-dev and mailman, and I have configured also "newlist mailman" following the instructions on the screen.
The installation process told me if should use mailman and I answered Yes.

In the control panel I have configured a mailing list, but seems i canoot go further.
I can reach myip/cgi-bin/mailman/admin/mailman and other list i create, but every click seems to be lost.
If I send an email to "mailman" the message goes to be moderated, but no other aliases are present in the /etc/aliases

I have not to use mailman, i just want a mailing list running with ispC, maybe mailman is still not readly integrated, there are some other solutions?

jnsc 9th February 2008 14:57

Do not use cgi-bin/mailman/admin/mailman to create your lists. In ISPConfig you have a Mailing list tab. Create the mailing list there.

Did you set the field "Mailman Domain:" in Management -> Settings -> EMail ?

redsector 9th February 2008 15:19

Thanks for the fast reply
I have set the Mailman Domain to "mydomain.com"

I have done "newlist mailman" just berore installing ispC, i was wrong? (I can reinstall if needed)

Now i have just digged the problem and i faound that the main problem is that seems that my machine has 3 IP address and mailman want to call anothermysite.com (not mydomain.com!) instead op myip.
I have setup a host file that convert anothermysite.com to myip and the administrative interface now seems runnig.

I have added 3 memebers bui i receive and invitation message that says:
To post to this list, send your email to: www. mydomain. com.list @mydomain.com (whitout spaces), but if i write to it i receive an error (User unknown in local recipient table).

That's because i have not done the righe installation procedure?
which step shoud i take?

p.s.
If i try to remove a list from ispC, it goes to recycle, but i cannot manage to delete it (is always in the bin).

thanks

redsector 9th February 2008 15:40

I just started reinstalling the server because seemed that php was not working. Is possible to have mailman installed in the stable version? (i do not really need it integrated in ispC)

jnsc 9th February 2008 15:55

Nothing wrong with the creation of the mailman list, it's a mandatory action.

If you created a list Domain called list.example.com,here is what mailman does: In case you created a list called test for the domain mydomain.com it will create an alias test@mydomain.com who points to mydomain.com.test@lists.example.com. For the user of the list will still be test@mydomain.com.

the list should be listed in /etc/postfix/virtusertable

jnsc 9th February 2008 15:56

It's possible but it involves many manual steps.

redsector 9th February 2008 16:10

Ok, so I have to do "newlist mailman", but i have also to insert data in aliases and run newaliases?

these step must be done in which phase? before or after installing ispC?

I have just reinstalled without newlist mailman before, so i do it now, but i will not touch /ets/aliases this time, ok?

jnsc 9th February 2008 16:24

newlist mailman is needed by mailman. Mailman will not work if you didn't do this.
But you will not have to touch /etc/aliases, ISPConfig uses /etc/postfix/virtusertable and it will populate it automatically.

redsector 9th February 2008 17:17

I was so deep in mailman that i've not checked ispC funcionality.
Seems that the developper version has some troubles with php i had to globally enable php to make it working and seems other problems apperars.
Is my problem os is normal?

jnsc 10th February 2008 21:25

for me php is working normally on a per site basis with 2.3.3


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.