HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Can't see mysql databases created by phpmyadmin (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19698)

HenryTheEight 22nd January 2008 13:55

Can't see mysql databases created by phpmyadmin

Hi,

I am new to ispconfig and linux (Centos), but have found ispconfig a very easy to use application.

My problem: phpmyadmin seems to be able to list and display the databases
created by ispconfig e.g. web1_db1 etc. and all works well i.e. the databases
are listed on the left column on phpmyadmin. However, databases created
directly by the phpmyadmin control panel e.g. "db_test" does not show up on the please select a database column.

I only can see the database using mysql commands "show databases;". Is this a bug or do I need to do something to make phpmyadmin recognise the newly created database. Without being able to select the "db_test" database, I won't be able to use the web GUI functions to manipulate db_test.

Help appreciated.... with thanks

BTW using phpmyadmin 2.11.4 ispconfig 2.2.19

Hans 22nd January 2008 22:50

No bug

If you want to display the databases you mention, please remove "test" or "information_schema" from the line:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['hide_db'] = '(information_schema|mysql|pmadb|test)';

within the phpMyAdmin configuration file, which is: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web/phpmyadmin/config.inc.php :)

HenryTheEight 23rd January 2008 01:17

Thanks for solving this

Hans,

Thanks for the tip. Of all the database names to choose from, I had
to be lucky enough to choose a default hide-db name like "db_test".

I have since created another database with a more 'unique' database name (i.e. something without the word 'test' or 'mysql' etc.) in it. And ... now all