HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   changing hostname (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1948)

mwebb 6th January 2006 17:38

changing hostname
 
mikeswebb.com is beening set to my address.

the hostname on my ispconfig computer is sid.domain.com.

why does the hostname have to be mikeswebb.com, if i want to host another site such as rdavis.com what would i do then ?
what if i wanted to host 100 sites ??

if the hostname does need to be changed.
what files need to be changed.

ps i know this question must be asked about 1000 times but i missed the answer.

till 6th January 2006 17:42

Why do you want to change the hostname for That?

1) Install ISPConfig.
2) Create a new client in ISPConfig.
3) Add as many websites with the hostnames / domains you want.

mwebb 6th January 2006 18:03

just seems to easy:
created a client called mikewebb
created a site called mikeswebb.com (checked on the create dns)
i have to wait a while for the ip to point to me, we'll see what happens.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.